AbdulRazaq takes town hall meeting to Baruten, speaks live on first Radio in Kwara North

Date: 2022-10-30

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq posted another first on Saturday as he addressed citizens of the state live on the first-ever radio station in the entire Kwara North.

The Notia FM (90.7), a baby of the Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation, is a project of his administration which the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has recently approved to begin transmission from Okuta town, Baruten.

Until now, residents of Kwara North could only listen to or get the services of radio stations from either Benin Republic or Oyo State — a jinx the Governor had pledged to break.

“We thank Almighty God for this feat. I thank the people of Baruten and of Kwara North for their support for this administration. We are glad to have made this good history and impact in the lives of our people,” he said in a brief live interview conducted by Director of Programmes at Radio Kwara (Midland FM 99.1), a sister platform of Notia FM.

The Governor was accompanied on the inspection visit to the radio by Senator Umar Sadiq (Kwara North); Speaker of the House of Assembly Rt. Hon. Yakubu Danladi-Salihu; House of Assembly members; cabinet members; and top chieftains of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Governor had earlier addressed a town hall meeting in Okuta, attended by top government officials, community leaders led by Emir of Okuta Alhaji Dr. Idris Abubakar Sero, civic groups, members of the public, and APC apparatchiks from far and near.

“Whether in road infrastructure, education, health care delivery, or welfare of our workers and citizens, our administration stands shoulder high above where we are coming from,” he said, his speech punctuated by applause and chorus of ‘gema!’, the Batonu language for truth.
The Governor also commissioned the Kano road, which connects the Emir’s palace to Maro, a suburb of the big town.

His speech was preceded by commendations from Senator Sadiq, Speaker Danladi, and the first class monarch of Okuta, among others.
Cabinet members and heads of parastatals took turns to mention specific programmes and projects already done or are ongoing in Baruten, Kwara North, and across the state.

Executive Secretary, Kwara State Health Insurance Agency, Dr. Olubunmi Jettawo-Winter, said close to 2000 indigents of Baruten LG have been enrolled in the State Health Insurance scheme.

Acting General Manager, State Social Investment Programme (KWASSIP), AbdulQuowiyu Olododo, said between 2020 and 2022 a total of 4,540 people from Baruten and Kaiama LGs benefitted from the government's safety net (Owo Isowo and Owo Arugbo), while six young entrepreneurs from the two tiers of government received N1million each to support their businesses under the Kwaprenuour 2.0.

Chairman, Kwara SUBEB, Prof. Sheu Raheem Adaramaja, said out of the 4,701 teachers the government recruited to teach in the public primary and secondary schools, Baruten LG got 371 slots, adding that their welfare remains a top priority.

The Governor was then turbaned the Yeruma of Okuta at the coluorful Ganni Festival in the forecourt of the palace of Emir of Okuta.
The title means the ‘most prominent child of Okuta Kingdom’ — a reward for what the monarch called the Governor’s unprecedented achievements in the area in terms of infrastructural development.

“You have been able to put smiles on the faces of the greater majority of Kwarans who are able to objectively make reasonable comparative analysis of where we were yesterday, as against where we are today,” the Emir said.

Rafiu Ajakaye
Chief Press Secretary to the Governor
October 29, 2022


Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kayode Issa     Abdulhakeem Amao     Goodluck Jonathan     Oluranti Idowu     Kanu Agabi     Femi Agbaje     Oniye     Emir Of Yashikira     Gani Saadu     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Sobi Hill     CELF     Ishaq Oloyede     Kwara Pdp     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Maigidasanma     Yakub Ali-Agan     Mike Omotosho     Oko     Iponrin     Local Government Pension Board     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Vishvas KOZ Tractors     Kwara State Polytechnic     Olajumoke Monsura Gafar     Shettima     Issa Memunat Moyosore     Olaitan Adefila     Women For Change And Development Initiative     Musa Alhassan Buge     Idi-Ape     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Bilikis Oladimeji     Kayode Zubair     Fatai Olodo     Jamila Bio Ibrahim     Yusuf Abdulkadir     Olomu     Suleiman Abubakar     Abdulrahman Onikijipa     Jide Ashonibare     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Monthly Sanitation     Tsaragi     Hydroelectric Power Producing Areas Development Commission     High Court     Salake     Waziri Yakubu Gobir     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Isiaq Khadeejah     Kwha.gov.ng     Saka Isau     Trader Moni     National Information Technology Development Agency     Abdulazeez Uthman     Ayo Opadokun     Olukotun Of Ikotun     Salman Jawondo     Al-Hikmah University     Elese Of Igbaja     Dankaka     Alaaya     Ridwan Agboola     Sanitation Exercise     Oye Tinuoye     Ayinke Saka     Bureau Of Lands     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Bamidele Adegoke     Muhammad Sirajo Aliyu     Bond     Hussein Oloyede     Tunji Arosanyin     Adesoye College     Titus Ashaolu     Nigerian Army     Wole Oke    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Adegoke Bamidele     Damilola Yusuf Adelodun     Hajj     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Monkey Pox     Gbugbu     Bature Bello     Moshood Mustapha     Marufat Oladosu     Maigidasanma     Okedare     Senate President     Muslim Media Watch Group Of Nigeria     CUTI     Sunday Fagbemi     Abdulrazaq Aiyelabegan     Abubakar Aliagan     Mohammed Saidu     Sunday Otokiti     Jimba Babatunde     Mustapha Akanbi     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Ibrahim Abdullahi     ASKOMP     Kwara State Printing And Publishing Corporation     Umar Ayinla Saro     IYA ALFA NLA     Afolayan     Coalition Of Kwara North Groups     Abubakar Abdullahi Bata     National Union Of Road Transport Workers     Elections     New Model Police Station     Oke-Ero     National Pilot     Abdulrahman Abdullahi Kayode     Bayo Ojo     Moji Makanjuola     Kayode Yusuf     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Abdulmumini AbdulRazaq     Gbenga Awoyale     Monthly Sanitation     David Oyepinola Adedumoye     Imodoye Writer’s Enclave     Buari Edun     Kayode Zubair     Anilelerin     Emir Of Lafiagi     Ilorin West     Dankaka     Muhammadu Gobir     Metro Park     MMWG     Yahaya Seriki Gambari     Abdulfatai Baakini     RTEAN     Alapansapa     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Kayode Alabi     Albert Ogunsola     Minister     Durosinlohun Kawu     Babaloja-General     Twitter     Bilikis Oladimeji     Sobi     Mohammed Lawal     Garba Dogo     Binta Abubakar Mora     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Towoju     Isiaq Khadeejah     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Ilota     Abdulrahman Abdulrasak     Bibire Ajape