It's no time for politics, Kwara gov cautions new commissioners

Date: 2021-08-05

Kwara state governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq Wednesday cautioned newly sworn- in commissioners against full blown politics saying his administration has huge grounds to cover.

Abdulrazaq said though his administration has achieved a lot in the area of fixing basic infrastructure and bringing governance closer to the people, he however maintained that the government still need to do more to justify the trust the masses have in the administration.

"We have delivered quite much, particularly in basic amenities and social infrastructure that were hitherto lacking. But we still have huge grounds to cover. So, it is no time for full blown politics. We must keep our eyes on the ball, which is service to the people of Kwara state who have entrusted us with their mandate," the governor told three new commissioners after their inauguration Wednesday evening, The commissioners are Hajia Saadatu Modibbo Kawu (Education and Human Capital Development); Mrs Bosede Olaitan (Communications); and Sabbah Yisa Gideon (Agriculture and Rural Development). The governor tasked the cabinet members on prudence, team work, and sacrifice to achieve a greater Kwara State.

"You are coming on board at a crucial time in the life of this administration and our state. Kwara state is undergoing a rebuilding process. Prudence, discipline, team work, and sacrifice have been our watchwords," he said. "Revenue is drying up. Yet our administration is confronted with huge challenges of human capital and infrastructural development, and an urgent need to lift as many people as possible out of poverty. Every penny is being channeled to tackle this. The administration has a duty to chart a sustainable course for our state. That is why we can't afford to be flamboyant or wasteful."

Secretary to the state government Prof. Mamman Saba Jubril, on his part, said: "I urge the honourable commissioner to be dedicated to their duties. They should be tolerant and completely loyal to the government. We acknowledged the honour for the swearing in ceremony. May God continue to honour you to serve the state." Modibbo Kawu, who spoke on behalf of the new commissioners, said they would join other stakeholders to succeed in the task before them.

"This moment means a lot to us. So, on behalf of my colleagues, I will like to express our appreciation to His Excellency the Governor. We know this is a trying period for the state. The resources we have cannot do a lot of things we intend to do. We will think outside the box and be innovative as much as possible to manage the little that we have to do much we can in our different ministries," she said.

"We shall work with other critical stakeholders to achieve the goals of this administration." The brief swearing in was attended by speaker of the House of Assembly Hon. Salihu Yakubu-Danladi; Chief Judge Suleiman Kawu; Grand Kadi Ola AbdulKadir; Head of Service Mrs Modupe Oluwole Susan; Attorney general and commissioner for Justice Salman Jawondo; special adviser to the governor on strategy Sa'adu Salau; and special adviser to the governor on political communication Bashiru Adigun.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ado Bayero     Kwara State Polytechnic     Matthew Babaoye     Kumbi Titilope     Olaitan Adefila     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Kawu     Suleiman Abubakar     Oyedun Juliana Funke     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Ojuekun     Leke Ogungbe     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Budo Egba     Okin Biscuits     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Monsurat Omotosho     Abraysports FC     Musa Aibinu     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Oniyangi     Idofin     Ahmad Olayiwola Kamaldeen     Tunde Yusuf     Government House     Ijagbo Health Centre     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Abdulrasheed Na\'Allah     Owo Isowo     Saliu Tunde Bello     Boko Haram     Muslim Media Watch Group Of Nigeria     Millennium Development Goals     Kwasu     Kwara State Government     George Funsho Adebayo     Borgu     Bello Oyebanji     Rapheal Ashaolu     Gbenga Adebayo     Bayer AG     Ejidongari     Mamman Saba Jibril     Mubarak Oladosu     Folashade Omoniyi     Kwara Central     Razak Atunwa     Noah Yusuf     Lawan     Akanbi-Oke     Osinbajo     Bolakale Ayo     Oloyede     MAI Akande     Amuda Aluko     Danhawa     Ajuloopin     Ojo Fadumila     Mohammed Saidu     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Tunde Idiagbon Road     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ajikobi     Awili Pedro     Tanke Road     Afonja Descendants Union     Oro Grammar School     Oluwole Dupe     Yusuf Zulu-Gambari     Raimi Iyanda     Dan Iya Of Ilorin     Saliu Ajibola Ajia     Iyabo Dupe Adekeye     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     T And K FOODS     March 28    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Akorede     SARS     Oya State     Roseline Oni Aremu     Hassan A. Saliu     Saidu Yaro Musa     Zulu Gambari     Oyun     Aso-ofi     Nurudeen Mohammed     Kayode Oyin Zubair     Lanre Jimoh     Facemasks     Orisa Bridge     Abraham Ojo     Egbejila     Odo-Owa     Tunji Arosanyin     Kolade Solagberu     Folaranmi Aro     HYPPADEC     Bolaji Abdullahi     Offorjama     Share-Tsaragi     Erin-ile     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Saliu Tunde Bello     Shettima Of Ilorin     Clement Yomi Adeboye     Ajike People Support Centre     Monthly Sanitation Exercise     Timothy Akangbe     Al-Hikmah Radio     Minimum Wage     Col. Adedipe     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Ahmad Uthman     Kwara State Council Of Chiefs     08001000100     Sarkin Malamai     Ijagbo     Mashood Dauda     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Olayinka Olaogun     Salman Alada     Funmi Salau     Ebola     Aisha Ahman-Pategi     Laolu Saraki     Ajibola Ademola Julius     Oyedun Juliana Funke     Lateef Ademola Olatunji     Ubandoma Of Ilorin     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Islamic Development Bank     Halimah Perogi     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Ilorin West     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Manzuma     Igbaja     Post Utme     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Ilorin Talaka Parapo (ITP)     Adesoye College     Reuben Paraje     Matthew Babaoye     Tsaragi     Chief Of Staff     Aminu Adisa Logun     Magaji Are     Ophthalmological Society Of Nigeria     Agboola Babatunde     KWASIEC     Olugbense     Dankaka     Eruku