OPINION: 'Political Parties Should Prioritise Competency, Capacity to Achieve Desired Change'

Date: 2022-05-11

A leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ekiti Local Government Area, Kwara State, Ganiyu Gabriel, has cried out over an alleged plot by some members to destroy the party. Gabriel, who represents Ekiti Constituency in the House of Assembly, and was reacting to the alleged suspension of Ekiti LGA APC Chairman, Wale Awelewa, said many of them have been known to be hobnobbing with the opposition. The APC in Opin Ward had suspended Awelewa over alleged financial misconduct and for endorsing Gabriel for a second term.

As the 2023 general election approaches, registered political parties have been advised to prioritize competency and capacity building that is allegedly lacking among the current politicians parading themselves to occupy elective positions in the country.

The Kwara State Coordinator of the #NotTooYoungToRun# Movement, Olasupo Abideen, who made the call in Ilorin, the state capital, while speaking with journalists, said the development would go a long way to bringing more desired change in the governance of the country.

He also said the parties should go for the impeccable character as it reflects the quality of their persons.

This, he stated would set the pace for more young people to get involved and help them drive the desired change.

According to him, “Today, the law has taken its full effect and has enabled more young people to show interest in political offices.

“But for an advocacy that started 10 years ago, seeing the fruits manifest in my lifetime gladdens my heart.”

Abideen, who is also the director of Brain Builders Youth Development Initiative, noted that: “I am also pleased that Kwara State continues to make giant strides in ensuring young people are engaged at all levels.

“The current administration in the state boasts of young people in government. It also appointed the youngest commissioner in the country.

“I encourage people advocating for a cause or the other aimed at improving the status quo to keep at it.

“Those who mock you today will celebrate you when you win, and they will also be beneficiaries of the outcome.”

He opined further: “As the 2023 elections draw near, the influx of young people interested in various political offices has been a delight to me. But it has also been a reason for some reflection.

“Pushing for a constitutional amendment in Nigeria is an arduous task. The process is frustrating and will have you reconsider your position.

“In the case of the #NotTooYoungToRun, the votes of the National Assembly are required. After this, the resolution must be approved by not less than two-thirds of the Nigerian states.

“Nigeria has 36 states, which means 24 states represent two-thirds. Once this approval is complete, it is presented to the president for his assent. But all that is history now.

“Not many people are aware, but the #NotTooYoungToRun campaign started in 2012.

“It was organized by young Nigerians who formed a coalition of 30 groups under the Youth Alliance on Constitution Review and Electoral Reform (YACOR), of which I was a member.

“It was during this time that I traveled to Abuja for the first time. We hosted conferences online to get more people to participate in the process.”



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Olusin Of Ijara Isin     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Sa\'adu Gambari     Zubair Folorunsho Erubu     George Innih     Shonga Farm Project     Jaigbade Alao     Olabode George Towoju     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Rapheal Ashaolu     Aro Yahaya     Laolu Saraki     Alumni Association Of The Federal Polytechnic Offa     Amusa Bello     NTA Ilorin     Afonja Descendants Union     Ishola Abdullahi     Yahaya Oloriegbe     Twitter     Shehu Salau     Adedayo Yusuf Abdulkareem     Mohammed Saidu     Adegoke Bamidele     Ahmed Ayinla Jimoh     NIPOGA     Admiralty Villa     AbdulHamid Adi     Bello Taoheed Abubakar     Igbomina     Muhammad Yahya     Bayer AG     Garba Ado Sanni     Abraysports FC     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Folaranmi Aro     AbdulRauf Keji     Oba Abdulkadir La\'aro     Inside Kwara     Michael Ologundea     Olohungbebe     Sheikh Alimi     Kwara State Polytechnic     Ajeigbe     Sabi     Shettima Of Ilorin     Victor Gbenga Yusuf     Sardauna Of Ilorin     Kwara State Television     08001000100     UNILORIN Alumni Association     Abubakar Suleiman     Olosi Of Osi     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Shagari     NSCIA     Adaramaja     Senate     UNILORIN Alumni     Medview Airlines     Bukola Ajikobi     Raimi Iyanda     Ahmed Bayero     Alabere     Kwara State Football Association     Rashidi Yekini     Erin-ile     Osinbajo     Hassan Abdulazeez Elewu     Amina Susa\'a De Ahmed     United Nigeria Congress Party     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Elerinjare-Ibobo     Taofeek Sanusi     Kwasu     Kwara     Kehinde Boyede    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulmalik Bashir Mopelola Risikatullahi     COVID     National Party Of Nigeria     Segun Abifarin     John Obuh     Shaaba Lafiagi     Aliyu Muyideen     Biliaminu Aliu     Bahago     Ahmad Olayiwola Kamaldeen     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Adedayo Yusuf Abdulkareem     Iliasu     Saba Jibril     Ojo Fadumila     Pategi     Durbar     Madawaki     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Ahman Pategi     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Dan Masanin     Abubakar B.M     Baba-Isale     Shuaibu Yaman     ANCOPPS     Ajia-Bako     Lola Ashiru     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Olosi Of Osi     Kolade Solagberu     Afolabi-Oshatimehin     Kwara State Council Of Chiefs     Gbenga Awoyale     Okin High School     Elesie Of Esie     Mogaji Aare     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Ahmed     Kola Ologbondiyan     Ilorin Anchor Men And Women     Elections     KFA     Kanu Agabi     Oluwole Dupe     Ilesha Gwanara Road     Yusuf AbdulRasheed     Akom Construction And Engineering Synergy Ltd     Emir Of Shonga     Yakubu Mohammed Abdullahi     National Broadcasting Commission     Vasolar Consultoria     Admiralty Villa     Kwara Central     Ilorin South     Tayo Alao     Musa Alhassan Buge     Ilorin Talaka Parapo     Ibrahim Oloriegbe     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Yetunde Balogun     Alabi Lawal     Kwara Volleyball Association     Sheikh Ridhwanullah El-ilory     Muhammed Akanbi     Muritala Olarewaju     Saliu Tunde Bello     Magaji Nda     Rashidi Yekini     Ekiti     Babatunde Idiagbon     Tunde Kazeem     Offorjama     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     All Confederation Of Principals Of Secondary Schools     Zaratu Umar     Omoniyi Ayinla