Legendary Musician, Onyeka Onwenu Lauds Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq's Ingenuity on Nigeria Women

Date: 2023-12-07

•Gov pledges NGF continued support

International music icon, Onyeka Onwenu has commended the Governor of Kwara State, Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq on his ingenious ways of making women force to reckon with in not only Kwara but Nigerian politics.

Speaking at the fourth annual conference of Nigeria Governors' Spouses' Forum, Onyeka Onwenu specifically thanked the Governor for his efforts on gender equality.

The award-winning female star, however, advised Nigerian men to tow the path of the Governor as he has mainstreamed gender inclusion in political leadership.

It would be recalled that in October this year, at the 7th Voice of Women (VOW) Conference and Awards in Abuja, the governor won a Lifetime Achievement Award for his transformational gender inclusion policy in the state.

Governor AbdulRazaq received a plaque specifically honouring his historic inclusion of an unprecedentedly high number of women in key leadership positions, including having the highest number of women in cabinet in the history of Nigeria.

Maureen Hinda-Mbuende, Namibian Deputy Finance Minister, said at the event that she is humbled by how much “the Governor of Kwara State has deployed the goodwill of his office to support women empowerment”.

In his remarks at the conference, Governor AbdulRazaq acknowledged the commitments of the NGSF to vigorously tackle gender-based violence and other unhealthy practices.

"The Forum has over the years played key roles in helping to drive a new national narrative around the issues of gender-based violence, gender parity, and women and girl-child empowerment.

"The successes of the previous conferences are glaring enough in the strength of their excellencies' advocacies and the impressive outcomes so far. Notwithstanding the achievements of the past years, we are excited by the theme of this year’s conference — Youth Allies: Bridging Generations to End Violence. The theme officially brings into this discussion the most important and outspoken cohort that holds the key to many breakthroughs in our efforts to build a sustainable and safe society.

"The interesting thing is that this important demography is entirely a digital community. Variously called digital natives or virtual natives, depending on the years of their births, these cohorts have their peculiar cultures and preferences, including their preferred medium of learning and socialisation.

"I pledged our continued support at the Nigeria Governors' Forum (NGF) for the important task of not just ending all gender-based violence but also ensuring a society that is fair and just. Together, we must work for an equitable society.

"On behalf of my brothers and colleagues at the NGF, I congratulate their excellencies on the fourth annual conference," the Governor said.

In 2019, the Governor appointed a cabinet that had 56.25% female, apart from keeping some 50% slots for women permanent secretaries. He currently has a 50% female cabinet, including young commissioners.

He has also introduced legislation that mandates Kwara to have at least 35% gender parity in appointive political offices, including in the state bureaucracy.

Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Nigeria’s north-central Kwara State has gone down in history as the first African leader with the highest number of female cabinet members and political appointees.


Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

LEAH Charity Foundation     Nigeria Customs Service     Wahab Isa     Amusement Park     Ayegbeni     Mufti Of Ilorin     Arinola Lawal     Ghali Muhammed     Clement Yomi Adeboye     Is\'haq Modibbo Kawu     Lanre Aremu     Ishaq Salman     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Dele Belgore     Waheed Ibrahim     JUSUN     Monkey Pox     Turaki Of Ilorin     Umaru Saro     Cassava Growers\' Association     Tafidan Kaiama     Okin Group     Muslimah Entrepreneurship Forum     Issa Manzuma     Neuropsychiatric Hospital     Awodun     Government High School Adeta     Ilorin Anchor Men And Women     Ahmed     Muslim Stakeholders Of Kwara State     Christopher Ayeni     Muazam Nayaya     Adesina Simon Sodiya     Elewu     Sola Saraki University     Sayomi     Lotus Bank     Olabanji Orilonishe     Hassanat Bello     Kola Adesina     Alanamu     Bluenile Associates     Akanbi-Oke     Ramat Oganija     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Tope Daramola     IQRA College     CELF     Elesie Of Esie     CLAY POT     Amasa     Adesoye College     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Afolayan     Amina Susa\'a De Ahmed     Ashiru     Isiaka Rafiu Mope     Amada Jidda     Osi     Kwara State Football Association     Al-Ilory     Aliyu Adebayo     George Innih     Yakubu Gobir     Ilorin Talaka Parapo     Ilorin West     AbdulRasaq Abdulmajeed Alaro     Kwara State Government     Kayode Ishola     Ramadan     Adebara     Kale Ayo     Muhammad Ghali Alaaya     Abdulkadir Jimoh     Abdulmumini Sanni Jawondo     Doyin Group     GANZY    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Mary Kemi Adeosun     Special Adviser On Digital Innovation     Babata     Oro Grammar School     Isiaka Abdulrazak     Adeola Abraham     Ayo Salami     LAK Jimoh     Oko-Erin     Olota Of Odo-Owa     Odolaye Aremu     Overland     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Rasaq Jimoh     Saka Adeyemo     Olatunji Ibrahim     Alanamu     Ahman Patigi     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Balikis Jawondo     Share     Akanji     Rihanat Ajia     Kwara 2023     Salman Jawondo     Raji AbdulRasaq     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Barakat Community Secondary School     Yusuf Abdulraheem     NIRSAL     Kayode Alabi     Aremu Bose Deborah     Democracy Day     Millennium Development Goals     Bio Ibrahim     Olatunde Olukoya     Olaiya Victor Mobolaji     Jide Ashonibare     Adedeji Onimago     Yemi Osinbajo     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Raymond Olaitan     Bello Oyebanji     20 Billion Bond     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Yeketi     Niyi Osundare     Musbau A. Akanji     Elerinjare-Ibobo     Jebba     Transition Implementation Committee     Saba Jibril     Oba Abdulrahim     Isiaka Alikinla     Iyabo Adewuyi     Segun Adeniyi     Al-Hikmah Radio     Adesoye     Yunus Lawal     Sodiya     Yakubu Dogara     Kwara North     Kulende-UITH     Owo Arugbo     Jimoh Akani     Saad Omo Iya     Centre For Digital Economy     Mukhtar Shagaya     Rebecca Bake     Adolescent Girls Initiative For Learning And Empowerment     Elese Of Igbaja     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Atiku Abubakar     Freshvine Nigeria Limited     Azeez Bello     Kolade Solagberu     Na\'Allah