I will do more for Kwara people, AbdulRazaq says after re-election

Date: 2023-03-20

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has said the victory that the All Progressives Congress recorded in Saturday’s polls underscored the desire of the citizens to continue along the path of positive progress that Kwara has recorded over the past three years.

The governor reacted to his victory in the just-concluded governorship election in a statement on Monday signed by Rafiu Ajakaye, his chief press secretary.

The governor, who pledged to do more for the people, said he would consolidate on the gains of his first tenure.

Abdulrazaq said, “For me, the victory is a call to consolidate on, and further spread the gains of the past three and half years and do much more for the people. I pledge to recommit myself to this.

“Together, we will build a Kwara whose politics will be anchored on giving equitable opportunities to all, expanding the state’s economic base, and delivering dividends of democracy to the citizenry in an atmosphere of peace and respect for the dignity of the human person.

“This victory is truly humbling, and we give all glory to God who has made this happen. It speaks to our people’s understanding of our history, their appreciation of the progress made between yesterday and today, and their commitment to a greater tomorrow.

“It reflects the wishes of Kwarans at home and in diaspora to sustain the gains of the past three and half years. It means they appreciate our modest efforts to improve the lot of our state”, the Governor said.

He continued, “My profound appreciation goes to all the stakeholders for the truly pan-Kwara mandate; young or old, men and women, traditional and religious institutions, civil servants, private sector players, thoughts leaders, political leaders, market men and women, artisans, the media, students, and our young ones who energised our communities with that sweet, creative chant of ‘Maa se lo’.

“I dedicate this election victory to God and to the people of our state — in the north, south, and central. They have shown once again that power resides with the people. Finally, I commend the peaceful conduct of the election, and especially congratulate the security agencies, the electoral umpire, and the political elites for jointly making Kwara polls the most peaceful in Nigeria.”

In his reaction, the Chairman of the All Progressives Congress in the state, Prince Sunday Fagbemi, described the party’s victory in the election as a reflection of the love the people have for the party in the state.

“This victory is a reflection of the people’s love for the APC and reaffirmation of the mandate given to the party during the popular ‘Otoge’ (Enough is Enough) movement in 2019. The movement marked a turning point in Kwara politics and led to the defeat of the then ruling party in the state.

“The victory of AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq is seen as a major boost for the APC in Kwara State, which has been the stronghold of the opposition PDP for over two decades. The election result is expected to further consolidate the APC’s hold on the state and pave the way for more development projects and initiatives that will benefit the people of the state.

“I want to assure that the party would work tirelessly to fulfill its promises to the people of the state and bring about positive change in all sectors of the economy of the state.

“I commend the people of the state for standing by our party and its candidates, especially AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, despite opposition elements. This victory was not just for the APC but for the people of Kwara State.

“I thank the Independent National Electoral Commission for the efficient conduct of the election, which was an improvement over previous elections. I also expressed gratitude to traditional rulers, religious leaders, political leaders, union leaders, and leaders of various associations, professional groups, and market associations for their roles in ensuring that the state remained peaceful during and after the election. Kwarans are the real winners of this election.

“I also praise the APC campaign team, led by the energetic youth leader Ambassador Abdulfatai Yahaya Seriki, and all members of the team for their tremendous efforts that made a difference. Their efforts would be long-remembered by the state,” he said.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Hassan Abdulazeez Elewu     Special Adviser On Digital Innovation     Apado     Olayinka Olaogun     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Gbadeyan Gbadura Yomi     Hauwa Nuru     Oluronke Adeyemi     Abdulkareem Alabi     Kunle Suleiman     Eghe Igbinehi     Babaita     Olaiya Victor Mobolaji     Aliyu Alhassan     Jebba     Kwara State Pension Board     Biliaminu Aliu     Mansurat Amuda-Kannike     Emmanuel Bello     NITDA     Apaola     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Tsaragi     Dan Iya     Ishaq Salman     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Split Diamond Interchange     Aminu Ado Bayero     Nigerian Medical Association     Simeon Sayomi     Yakub Ali-Agan     Ilorin West     Lukman Oyebanji Fagbemi     Mohammed Ibrahim     Busari Alabi Alausa     Demola Banu     Sheu Ndanusa Usman     Jamiu Oyawoye     IQRA College     SSA Youth Engagement     Salman Jawondo     Students Union Government     Issa Memunat Moyosore     Arik     Toyin Saraki     Mufutau Olatinwo     Abdulrazaq Sanni     Kwara Consultative Forum     Musa Abdullahi     AbdulRahman Saad     General Hospital, Offa     Ahmad Belgore     ENetSuD     David Oyedepo     Idris Garba     Kwara TV     Bamidele Adegoke     Radio Kwara     Dankaka     Share     Henry Makinwa     Gbemi Saraki     Okin High School     Allocation     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Muritala Olarewaju     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Azeez Bello     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Femi Ogunsola     Ophthalmological Society Of Nigeria     Tsaragi-Share     Emir Of Kano     Akom Construction And Engineering Synergy Ltd     Na\'Allah     John Kehinde Salako     Yahaya Seriki    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Idowu Laro     QuickWin     Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa     Ilesha Gwanara Road     ITEM 7     Tayo Alao     Olokoba     Ile Arugbo     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Amos Bajeh     Baba-Isale     Olaiya Zuberu     Ilorin Muslim Community     Mutawali Of Ilorin     Abdul-Rasheed Na\'Allah     SSA Youth Engagement     Maigidasanma     Kawu     Fulani     Habeeb Saidu     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Kaiama     Aminu Adisa Logun     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Baba Adini Of Kwara State     Medview Airlines     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Onilupeju Of Ilupeju     Ladi Hassan     Kisira     Moremi High School     Aisha Gobir     SSUCOEN     Alimi     Sai Kayi     Titus Ashaolu     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Tafida Of Kaiama     Kisra     Gobir     Ahmed \'Lateef     Aremu Odolaye     Kale Bayero     Saadu Alanamu     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Yomi Adeboye     Shuaib Boni Aliyu     Alaiye     Aasiyat Bello Oyedepo     Kwara Metro Park     Kwara State Television     2017 Budget     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Amasa     Academic Staff Union Of Universities     Alfa Belgore     Michael Nzwekwe     Seun Bolaji     Igosun     Oyun     Ndakene     Rabiu Kwankwaso     Yakubu Mohammed Abdullahi     Idi-Ape     Muritala Olarewaju     Wahab Agbaje     Ubandoma     Asa LGEA School     Aliyu Muhammad Saifudeen     Wahab Abayawo     Shehu Alimi Foundation For Peace And Development     Mustapha Akanbi     Ibrahim Gambari     Sarakite     COEASU     New Nigeria People’s Party     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia