Kwara APC crisis worsens as aggrieved members dump party, form "third force"

Date: 2021-06-20

Some aggrieved members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara State have left to form a new political group known as the Third Force.

The decampees led by Yakubu Gobir, a former governorship aspirant, include APC senatorial chairmen, ward chairmen, local government chairmen, women leaders, youth leaders, as well as other party stalwarts in all the 16 local government areas of the state.

The members who converged on IIorin, the state of capital, on Saturday, accused Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq and his loyalists of not allowing them to participate in the recent membership registration and revalidation exercise of the APC.

The people, who tore their APC membership cards and burnt the party symbol of brooms, also alleged a plot to marginalise them ahead of the 2023 election.

Speaking on behalf of the group, the former state APC senatorial chairman for Kwara Central, Abdulfatai Abdulrahman, said it is impossible to achieve the developmental goals they aim for Kwara under the present leadership of the party.

"As you are all aware, Kwara APC has been enmeshed in one crisis or the other almost immediately after the party’s primary, stretching into the campaign period and lingering up to date.

"The crisis has gotten to its peak with the recent concluded APC membership revalidation and registration exercise in the state that was flawed with deliberate policies and grand orchestration to deregister and disenfranchise selected members of the party.

"The success of a political party is anchored on its popularity, intra party membership cohesion, integrity and sincere commitment to the service of the masses. All these are glaringly diminishing in Kwara APC as it is now.

"A grand design that denied majority of party members the opportunity to register and revalidate their membership across the state is a 2023 permutation agenda. We can never cross our fingers and watch the game from the sideline.

'The deliberate inaction to address the lingering crisis in Kwara APC has become obvious to all discerning minds that the agenda to deregister and refusal to revalidate thousands of members across the state was a grand plot that has the backing of the National Caretaker Committee of the party.”

Mr Abdulrahman, however, said that the new party would be unveiled in due course.

This development trails the protracted crisis rocking the state chapter of the party.

Recall that the former Chairman, Bashir Bolarinwa, was removed by the national caretaker committee of the party led by Yobe State Governor Mai Mala Buni and replaced with Abdullahi Samari in January.

This, however, widened the differences between Governor AbdulRazaq and a group of party leaders led by the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed.

The faction loyal to the governor applauded the suspension of Mr Bolarinwa but party members on the side of Mr Mohammed saw the hand of the governor in it and have even been angrier.

Despite the intervention of the national body and executives of the North Central zone of the party, no consensus was reached between the warring factions.

The lingering crisis has degenerated to the point that the nationwide registration was rejected by Mr Mohammed, who believed the process was not transparent and was skewed in favour of Governor AbdulRazaq.

With the unsettled scores, political observers believe if the rift is not laid to rest, it will breed more crises which might spell the doom of the party in forthcoming elections.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Alfa Belgore     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Bisi Oyeleke     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Logun     Omoniyi     Ayo Opadokun     Ilorin Muslim Community     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Split Diamond Interchange     Salihu S. Yaru     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Albert Ogunsola     Olateju Lukman     Ahmad Fatima Bisola     Ijagbo Health Centre     Lola Ashiru     Saidu Kawu     Pategi     Iqra Books     Adeleke Ogungbe     Ilorin South     Shonga     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Tunji Ajanaku     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Solomon Edojah     Lawan     Anilelerin     Olusola Saraki     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     LEAH Charity Foundation     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Goodluck Jonathan     Abubakar Baba     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Ariyo     Olatunji Bamgbola     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Bolakale Ayo     Jeunkunu-Malete-Bani     Oni Adebayo     Mamatu Abdullahi     Taofik Mustapha     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Suleiman Abubakar     Muhammed Akanbi     Allocation     Abdulrahman Abdulrasak     CUTI     JUSUN     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Post Utme     NIRSAL     Modibo Kawu     General Hospital     Kwara State Health Insurance Agency     Magaji Are     Dumagi     Oyawoye     Bamidele Adegoke     Computer Based Test     Busari Alabi Alausa     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     General Hospital, Ilorin     Nupe     Abdulkadir Jimoh     Balogun Gambari     The Herald     Yusuf Lawal     April 11     Samari     Hassan A. Saliu     Oniyangi     Quran     Saka Onimago    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Saheed Popoola     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Kwara Metro Park     Adaramaja     Baba Adini Of Kwara State     S.O. Opowoye     Kannike     AbdulQowiy Olododo     Saadu Yusuf     Alaiye     Olusola Saraki     Monthly Sanitation Exercise     Jimba Babatunde     KWSIEC     UTME     Ogbondoroko     JAAC     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Minister     Ibrahim Agboola Gambari     Abdulhakeem Amao     Ibrahim Sulu Gambari     Saba Jibril     Joana Nnazua Kolo     Al-Hikmah University     Iliasu     Post-utme     Toyin Abdullahi     Lanwa     Offorjama     Oloje     LABTOP     Oyedepo     Amosa     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Alikinla     Laduba     Segun Olawoyin     Lasiele Alabi Yahaya     Ojo Fadumila     Tayo Alao     Demola Banu     Aliyu Kora-Sabi     Bamidele Aluko     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Bashiru Makama     Moro     Umar Ayinla Saro     Musa Yeketi     Oke-Ogun     Agboola Babatunde     HICA     Manzuma     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Lai Gobir     Abubakar Imam     AIT Ilorin     Frootify     Olatunji Bamgbola     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Alabi Olayemi Abdulrazak     Dunmade     GRA     Theophilus Oyebiyi     AbdulHamid Adi     Jumoke Gafar     Saka Isau     Umar Danladi Shero     Musa Abdullahi     Maigida     Hassan Oyeleke     Mubarak Oladosu     Umaru Saro     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Bankole Omishore     Onikijipa     Ajayi Okasanmi