PVCs Collection: “INEC Will Not Extend Deadline” – Kwara State’s REC

Date: 2023-01-23

This is coming on the heels of calls from several quarters for the extension of the deadline for the collection of the PVCs.

Speaking further, he noted that the reason for the INEC’s inability to extend the date further is for the electoral body to have enough time to execute other exercises in the build-up to the elections.

“INEC is not going to extend the collection of PVCs because we’re going to be involved in other critical areas of the election, where we need to print out the number of voters in each polling units.

“And we need to give this to the political parties before the election so that we will get the statistics of everyone that has registered at each polling unit, and then they’ll strategize on how to campaign before the election on the 25th of February,” he noted.

He recalled that the collection of PVCs was recently extended by seven days. Instead of ending on January 22, 2023, it was extended to continue until January 29, 2023.

Bimodal Voters Accreditation System (BVAS)

Madami expressed confidence in the accuracy of the Bimodal Voters Accreditation System (BVAS) and the critical role the new technology is going to play in the coming and subsequent elections, making reference to the recent off-season elections in Anambra, Ekiti and Osun states.

“We have tested out BVAS in Anambra election: the BVAS was 92%.

“In Ekiti state election, the BVAS was 96%. In Osun state election, it was scored 98%. But you know we’re dealing with electronics; we don’t want to take chances.

“In our meeting with the leadership of INEC we were told that we need to test the BVAS before the main election so that we’ll be able to address any challenge before the election.

“We were told by the national body that we should go to our respective states and we should pick two local government areas in each senatorial zone in the country in order to do what we call a mock accreditation; it will be done in the presence of the Press, the security agencies and the political parties.

“In Kwara state, the commission picked Asa and Ilorin West for central. It picked Ekiti and Irepodun in the South. And in the North it picked Pategi and Moro,” he explained.

Madami assured that the new technology will make the upcoming election the best in the history of the country, as it will make rigging almost impossible:

“2023 election will be the best election Nigeria ever had because BVAS has taken rigging to the mud; it will be reduced to the minimum.”

He also noted that a fully charged BVAS machine can last up to 48 hours, dismissing the possibility of power outage becoming a stumbling block to the election, which hopefully would not last beyond a day.

“The BVAS is an upgrade to the card reader. The card reader is only used to check the fingerprints.

“Now the BVAS doesn’t only check the fingerprints, it also checks the facials too.

“If one fails both the fingerprints and facial recognition test, the electoral law permits the INEC to allow you to try it three times and after the three trials and the person couldn’t be identified as the owner of the card, then he or she would not be allowed to vote,” he further explained.

The Signing of the Electoral Act

While expressing his delight at the introduction of the BVAS, Madami lauded President Muhammadu Buhari for signing the Electoral Act.

“The Electoral Act has brought sanity and electoral integrity into the Nigerian political system.

“The chances of over-voting occurring is near zero.

“There is no way that we can have a scenario of over-voting because before anyone can be allowed to vote, he/she would have been accredited electronically.

“And even if that happens, according to the INEC rule which I’m going to apply strictly, I will cancel the result of that polling unit,” he added.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Gbemisola Saraki     Ashiru     Maigidasanma     Agboola Abdulraheem     Bisi Oyeleke     Rasheed Jimoh     Olatunde Michaels     Olusola Saraki     Ganiyu Taofiq     Ope Saraki     KwaraLearn     Okin Group     Suleiman Ajadi     Daud Adeshola     Isaac Gbenle     Dar-Al-Handasah Consultants     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Voices Of Tomorrow     Ogidi-Oloje     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     KWTV     John Olobayo     Ibrahim Agboola Gambari     Usman Alkali Baba     Toun Okewale-Sonaiya     Tanke     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Presidential Election     Monkey Pox     Waheed Ibrahim     Col. Taiwo     Kisira     Opolo Global Innovation Limited     Olufolake Abdulrazaq     Baruten     IPSAS     Principal Private Secretary     Nigeria Computer Society     Ilorin Central Mosque     AbdulGafar Tosho     Abubakar Usman Jos     Oko-Olowo     Senior Staff Union Of Colleges Of Education     Funke Adedoyin     Oke-Odo     Michael Ologundea     JAAC     Quareeb     Shonga     Sardauna Of Ilorin     Balikis Jawondo     Saliu Mustapha     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Bolakale Ayo     Oniyangi     Olaoye B. Felix     Funmilayo Braithwaite     Rebecca Bake     April 11     Elewu     Raymond Olaitan     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Aisha Buhari     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Turaki Of Ilorin     Yusuf Abubakar     Malete     Yetunde Balogun     Tunde Oyawoye     Joseph Bamigboye     Al-Hikmah Radio     Shehu Jimoh     Yemi Osinbajo     Ohoro Of Shao     Taofeek Sanusi     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Bello Bature    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Saliu Alamoyo     Moses Afolayan     Alumni Association Of The Federal Polytechnic Offa     Noah Yusuf     Modupe Oluwole     Aliyu Kora-Sabi     Ogidi-Oloje     Emmanuel Olatunji Adesoye     Kwara State Pension Board     Quarry Royal Valley     Jimoh Akani     Ogbondoroko     Bello Oyebanji     Muhammed Akanbi     Oladipo Akanmu Tolani     Nagode     Kaiama     Tunde Saad     Kwara State Branch Of The National Library     Young Progressives Party     BIR     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Orisun Igbomina     Idofin     Kwara Poly     Adebayo Salami     Nigerian Correctional Service     Deji Ajani     Olusola Saraki     Centre For Digital Economy     Moji Makanjuola     Ohoro Of Shao     Isiaka Oniwa     Dan Iya Of Ilorin     Offa Descendants Union     Olofa Of Offa     AIT Ilorin     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Isiaka Abdulrazak     Unilorin     Baakini     Sheikh Ridhwanullah El-ilory     Haliru Yahaya     Isiaq Khadeejah     KSIRS     AbdulQowiy Olododo     Eleja Taiwo Banu     QuickWin     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     2017 Budget     Raliat Islamic Foundation     Kwara State Television     Olumide Daniel Ibitoye     Matthew Babaoye     Yoruba     Dagbalodo     Olabode George Towoju     Iyaloja-General     Khairat Gwadabe     Ilota     Abdulwaheed Musa     Age AbdulKareem     Islamic Development Bank     Yakubu Mohammed Abdullahi     Timothy Olatunde Fadipe     Ola Falade     IQRA College     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Democracy Day     Sa\'ad Alanamu     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Abdulkarim Adisa     Olaosebikan     Manzuma     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Ishaq Oloyede