Kwara Govt Reacts To Medical Certificate Racketeering Report, Moves To Arrest Culprits

Date: 2024-03-28

In the ongoing battle against fraud and unethical practices, the Kwara State Ministry of Health has intensified efforts to safeguard the integrity of medical certificates and counter fraudulent practices in the state.

It would be recalled how investigative journalist Buhari Olanrewaju Ahmed conducted undercover research on how government hospitals in Kwara State issue medical certificates to people without conducting tests or through proxies.

However, an insider from the Ministry of Health, who doesn’t want his name to be mentioned, said that there are numerous complaints from various government hospitals.

He alleged that some officials do their utmost to bury the matter, and often, no action is taken.

According to him, “The report you produced really impacted them significantly. They never expected such an outcome. Many people have complained about the shenanigans occurring in some government hospitals, but the management chooses to overlook it because no media outlet has attempted to shed light on it.”

“Let me tell you, the Kwara State Hospital Management Board (KWSHMB), along with the Health Commissioner, is now working day and night to tighten measures against any fraudulent activities following the report.”

He added that efforts are being made to apprehend all people involved in the certificate racketeering.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Kwara State Governor, Rafiu Ajakaiye, disclosed that the Commissioner of Health, Dr. Amina Ahmed El-Imam, along with the Hospital Management Board, have unveiled stringent measures to combat counterfeiting and uphold transparency in the issuance of medical documents.

Mr Ajakaiye said that human environment is always in constant drift between the majority elements who want the best for the society, as championed by the government, and a tiny clique who care only about their own narrow interest.

“You will find this in every sector — whether in the health, education, media, or business and private organisations.

He says, “The most important thing is to constantly put measures in place to ensure that the public good thrives at all times.

“I understand that authorities at the health institutions have always been making efforts to curb issues of infractions and attempts to cheat the system in whatever form. It is a tough task, and we often urge the public to join this effort.

“I am aware, for instance, that different steps have been taken to prevent anyone from counterfeiting or obtaining medical certificates through unethical means.

He explained that the Commissioner of Health has spoken on the issue a couple of times, including the measures they have taken to arrest the situation.

Mr Ajakaiye said that the latest action taken in this regard by the Hospital Management Board was on March 10, 2024, to further tighten the system against counterfeiting of any kind.

“By the new rules, only CMDs are allowed to issue medical certificates; ID must be confirmed by CMD and a photocopy placed in applicant’s folder for record purposes; serialised certificates are to be issued to facilities only from Hospital Management Board.

“Such measures also include monthly reports of certificates issued by each facility with detailed test reports, among others, including security markers known only to the authorities, he said.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

UNIFEMGA     Ganiyu Taofiq     Oba-Solagberu     Iqra Books     Ojuekun     Share/Tsaragi     Moses Afolayan     Erin-ile     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Aliyu Salihu     Adamu Attah     Ariyo     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     AbdulRauf Keji     Lanwa     Oko-Erin     Habeeb Abdullahi Al-Ilory     HAMFAT Clinic And Maternity     Olaitan Buraimoh     Oluranti Idowu     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Sarkin Malamai     Kwara TV     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Bola Olukoju     Taiwo Joseph     Olupako     Makama     Kwara 2015     Nigeria Governors\' Forum     Bello Oyebanji     Shuaib Boni Aliyu     AbdulHakeem Ajibola Akanbi     Saadu Yusuf     Ayo Salami     Usman Rifun     Yakubu Dogara     Bureau Of Lands     KwaraLearn     Tayo Awodiji     Ella Supreme Tissue Paper     Saheed Akinwumi     Ajike People Support Centre     Oba Abdulrahim     Popo-Igbonna     Olota Of Odo-Owa     Hydro-electric Power Producing Areas Development Commission     Abubakar Bature Sulu-Gambari     Afin Descendants Union Of Odo-Owa     Abdulrazaq Akorede     NITDA     Bola Sagaya     Durbar     Wahab Egbewole     Ilorin Curfew     John Kehinde Salako     Kwara Teaching Service Commission     Alabi Lawal     Bello Oyedepo     Lateef Ademola Olatunji     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Okedare     Peter Obi     Pilgrims Board     Kwara State Television     Ilorin Airport     Aminat Ahmed     Afonja     Agbarere     Saka Isau     Hussein Olokooba     Yahaya Dumoye     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Ubandawaki     Kassim Babamale     All Peoples Party     Bola Shagaya    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Durbar Festival     Abubakar B.M     Tosin Saraki     Azeez Salawu     Simon Sayomi     Yahaya Muhammad     Ramadhan     Saudat Abdulbaqi     Ado Bayero     Ola Falade     Igosun     TESCOM     Olohungbebe     Kwara State Television (KWTV)     CBT     Temi Kolawole     Mansur Alfanla     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     AbdulRauf Keji     Abubakar Atiku     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Oro Grammar School     Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     Col. Adedipe     Amusement Park     Special Agro-Industrial Hub     KwaraLearn     Folorunsho Erubu     Mahmud Ayinla Giwa     Issa Manzuma     Dagbalodo     Mahe Abdulkadir     Wahab Egbewole     Ilorin Airport     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Moses Afolayan     Popo-Igbonna     Age AbdulKareem     Katibi Ibraheem Adeola     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Olupako Of Share     Sarkin Malamai     Maryam Nurudeen     Zaratu Umar     Isiaka Alikinla     Tuesday Assayomo     Ilorin Emirate Stakeholders Forum     Toyin Olayinka Tejidini     Amosa     Bolaji Nagode     Alimi     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Abdulkadir Jimoh     Bayer AG     Razaq Atunwa     Oyedun Juliana Funke     NIRSAL     Hussein Oloyede     Salihu S. Yaru     Moses Rahman Popoola     Onilorin     Ajibola Saliu Ajia     Yakubu Mohammed Abdullahi     Aiyedun     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Kwara NIPR     Tunde Oyawoye     Sheikh Hamzat Yusuf Ariyibi     Unicontinental Construction Company     Bola Tinubu     Oke-Ogun     Lawal Olohungbebe     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Muritala Awodun     Col. Ibrahim Taiwo     Shuaib Jawondo     Post-utme