Kwara correspondents honour Gov AbdulRazaq

Date: 2022-07-04

The Kwara State Correspondents’ Chapel of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), has honoured the state governor, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq with “Human Capital Development In Governance” Award.

Governor Abdulrazaq has made human capital development, especially in the areas of education, empowerment and gender advocacy cardinal points of his administration.
Speaking at the grand finale of the chapel press week on Thursday night; Abdulkareem Garba, the chairman of the chapel and channels TV correspondent, explained that the event was annual tradition in keeping with all chapels affiliated to the mother union, the Nigeria Union of Journalists. He added that the Correspondent Chapel undertook series of activities on the occasion.

“We invited net worth individuals and scholars to give lectures; we undertake seminars and, of course, organised Award Nite such as this one to reward excellence.

“All these are means to pass feedback to the larger society on the deep reflections we do in our jobs of informing the public and making authorities accountable.”

Speaking further, he informed the governor that media industry was the most distressed in the country. “Our members are subjected to irregular salaries, non-payment of allowances, despite the many hazards that attend our jobs. We are often, needlessly harassed by security agencies. To cap it all, there are no insurance policies available to us.

“We understand your limitations as governor. But as chief executive of the state, you can be our ambassador in the power circle where policy decisions are made.”

Garba thanked the governor for being exceptional in the encouragement of the media.

“As reporters, we were happy with the news of the landmark reforms, rejuvenation and motivation given to state owned media houses in Kwara.

“Particularly, we were excited at the prospect of a new radio station to serve the far flung Kwarans who, as a result of years of neglect, made radio waves from the neighbouring Benin Republic their choice stations and means of news gathering. To this effort of yours, we say kudos.”

In his acceptance speech, Governor Abdulrazaq who appreciated the body for the honour bestowed on him, noted that “We do not take this award for granted. It is a challenge for our administration to continue to prioritise and deliver on the most basic needs of our people and make life worth living for all of them — irrespective of where they are in every corner of the state.”

The governor, represented by his deputy, Kayofe Alabi declared that “our dream is to make Kwara the number one success story in Nigeria in access to quality public education and impressive learning outcome, potable water, affordable and qualitative basic healthcare services, reduced poverty rate, infrastructural development, and everything that boosts inclusive growth, among other key indicators of human capital development which will improve the living standards of our people.

“We cannot do this alone; hence, we call for continuous support of all the stakeholders, including the media, as we commit more resources and energy to the delivery of dividends of democracy.

“I dedicate this award to the great people of Kwara State and to all members of our team and everyone involved in the formulation and implementation of our people-focused policies and programmes which have greatly changed how governance is viewed by the largest majority of our people.”



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Timothy Akangbe     Ita-Ore     Baboko Primary School     Ogbondoroko     Ojuekun     Valsolar Consortium     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Sheriff Shagaya     Mohammed Halidu     Makama     Titus Ashaolu     Kayode Issa     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Muslim Stakeholders Of Kwara State     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Alliance For Democracy     Ekiti     Ajuloopin     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Kwara Basketball Association     Shuaib Boni Aliyu     Sebastine Obasi     Buhari     Bolaji Abdullahi     Matthew Okedare     Ike Ekweremadu     SSUCOEN     Abubakar Atiku     Sulyman Buhari     Yakubu Danladi     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Buari Edun     CBT     Alao Ayotunde     Ilesha Gwanara Road     Yoruba     Ubandoma     Ayinde Oyepitan     Abubakar Kawu Baraje     Taiwo Joseph     Orire     Onikijipa     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu     Saba Mamman Daniel     Abdulrasheed Lafia     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Arik     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Sheikh Ridhwanullah     Forgo Battery     Abdul Jimoh Mohammed     Sa\'ad Alanamu     Aminat Ahmed     Ibikunle Ogunleye     Universal Basic Education Commission     Talaka Parapo     Alagbado     Students Union Government     Dan Iya     Laduba     Kayode Zubair     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Olosi Of Osi     Joana Nnazua Kolo     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Aliyu Sabi     Pilgrims Board     Mohammed Ibrahim     Sidikat Akaje     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Oke-Kura     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Bola Magaji     Tsaragi/Share     Bature Bello    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Isin     SSA Youth     Sabi     Lanre Jimoh     Olomu Of Omu-Aran     Sa\'adatu Modibbo-Kawu     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Amuda Aluko     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Riskat Opakunle     GRA     Aisha Ahman-Pategi     Victor Gbenga Yusuf     ITEM 7     CCB     Yemi Osinbajo     Abdullahi Samari     LABTOP     Barakat Community Secondary School     Lai Gobir     Ashiru     Oyin-Zubair     Olajumoke Monsura Gafar     Ibrahim Gambari     ENetSuD     Yomi Ogunsola     Apaola     Lanwa     KWASSIP     Eleyele     Kale Bayero     AbdulRasaq Abdulmajeed Alaro     Taofeek Sanusi     Aso Ofi     Idris Amosa Oladipo Saidu     Agboola Abdulraheem     Ubandawaki     Raymond Olaitan     Olatunde Olukoya     Ilorin     Seni Saraki     Abdullahi AbdulMajeed     Ado Bayero     Femi Ogunsola     Shehu Jimoh     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Standard Organization Of Nigeria     Sunday Fagbemi     Oladimeji Thompson     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Elekoyangan     Oja-Oba     Ministry Of Women Affairs And Social Development     Tinubu Legacy Forum     Abdullahi Biffo     Florence Saraki     Adedayo Yusuf Abdulkareem     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Emir Of Kano     United Nigeria Congress Party     Iyeru Grammar School     Mamman Saba Jibril     Lawal Olohungbebe     Gabriel Fashanu     Kwara 2023     Oloyede     Oba Abdulrahim     Ilorin Emirate     Folaranmi Aro     Femi Oladiji     Ilorin Curfew     Saad Omo Iya     Wahab Issa     Abdulganiyu Salahudeen     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Tsaragi     International Public Sector Accounting Standards