Know Your Disco - Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company

Date: 2014-02-25

The Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company (IBEDC) was recently acquired under the privatisation programme of the Federal Government by Integrated Energy Distribution and Marketing Limited (IEDM), a limited liability company established by seasoned Nigerian technocrats with a track record of success in the private sector. IEDM was incorporated in 2006, with corporate headquarters in Abuja.

The company, which is licensed to distribute and market electricity in Nigeria also owns majority of the equity share of the Yola Electricity Distribution Company. IEDM has engaged the services of one of the most reputable electricity companies, the Manila Electric Company (MERALCO), from the Republic of Philippines as its technical partner to provide technical and management services.

MERALCO, which has over 110 years of electricity distribution and marketing experience, and an extensive knowledge of operating the electricity business in a privatiSed and competitive environment, will give IBEDC the vital impetus to transform into a world class organization.

Headed by Mr. Fortunato C. Leynes, a seasoned professional engineer as its Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, the Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company (IBEDC), whose franchise area cuts across Ogun, Oyo, Osun and Kwara states and parts of Ekiti, Kogi and Niger states has its corporate headquarters at Capital Building, 115 Ring Road, Ibadan.

IBEDC, being the largest electricity distribution network in Nigeria has twenty-two (22) Business Units spread across its franchise area. Of the Twenty-two (22) Business Units, four are in Kwara State.

These are: Baboko, Challenge, Jebba and Omu-Aran Business Units. Eight are in Oyo State. These are: Akanran, Apata, Dugbe, Molete, Monatan, Ogbomosho, Ojoo and Oyo Business Units. Five Business Units are in Osun State. These are: Ede, Ikirun, Ilesa, Ile-Ife and Osogbo Business Units. While five are located in Ogun State. These are: Ota, Olumo, Ijeun, Sagamu and Ijebu-Ode Business Units.

The Business Units in turn have service units under them which are strategically located to bring the services of the company closer to its customers and to promptly attend to customers' complaints, especially electrical fault clearing.

Presently, IBEDC has a total customer population of 1,136,593 and a total installed energy capacity of 720.8 megawatts. The company however plans to quickly grow its customer base by enumerating and regularizing those illegal consumers of electricity in its network. This will no doubt reduce commercial losses and shore up the revenue generation profile of the company.

IBEDC also plans to reinforce the network of its franchise area by making substantial investment towards the upgrading of injection sub-stations, distribution sub-stations and distribution lines.

The company, in conjunction with MERALCO, its technical partner is focused on delivering excellent service to its customers and providing customer satisfaction through efficient, safe and reliable power supply system that would power industrial growth, generate employment and improve the quality of life of customers in its franchise area.

The company is also focused on exceeding the expectations of its teeming customers and stakeholders. This will be achieved through corporate re-engineering, investment in human capital development, capital expenditure on metering and cutting edge technology that will reduce both technical and commercial losses and improve efficiency with the ultimate aim of delivering total quality service to its customers and ensuring a decentreturn to stakeholders.

The core values of IBEDC are honesty, integrity, proficiency, timeliness, team work and quality service delivery to our customers and stakeholders. Business units under Ibadan Disco and coverage areas.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Sam Okaula     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Shao     Vasolar Consortium     Ilorin Airport     Senate Presidency     Oko     Oba Abu     Gbajabiamila     Bureau Of Lands     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Erubu Oba Zubair     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Nupe     Edu     Nurudeen Muhammed     KWTV     AbdulHamid Adi     Atunwa     Oniwa     George Innih     Eruku     Adamu Attah     Reuben Paraje     Toyin Saraki     Makama     NURTW     Ilorin Central Mosque     Kwara State Polytechnic     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Segun Adeniyi     V.O. Abioye     Ilorin South     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     NYSC     Sarah Jubril     Awodun     Yakubu Shaaba     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Jimoh Akani     Gobir     08001000100     Gabriel Fashanu     Oke-Kura     KWASAA     Alanamu     Bola Shagaya     Lafiagi     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Umar Ahmed Gunu     National Association Of Nigerian Students     2017 Budget     Valsolar     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Ganmo     Ayedun     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Kulende-UITH     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Ayinde Oyepitan     Kwara 2015     Lak Jimoh     Bond     Mashood Dauda     Saka Saadu     Ilorin East     Ilota     Sanusi Abubakar     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Toyin Sanusi     Offa Poly     Shonga Farm Project     Revenue Court     Omoniyi Ayinla     LEAH Charity Foundation     Christopher Ayeni