Kwara youths decry dissolution of PDP executives

Date: 2017-09-08

Kwara State Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) youths have criticised the dissolution of the State Executive Committee by the Ahmed Makarfi-led National Caretaker Committee.

The youths are also demanding for the restoration of the Akogun Iyiola Oyedepo -led executive.

The state executive was disbanded at the recent PDP national convention.

The aggrieved youths alleged that the dissolution of the executive was suspicious and a collusion between Makarfi and certain politicians to weaken opposition in Kwara.

Prior to the dissolution of the executive of the party in Kwara, both Akogun Iyiola Oyedepo and Sunday Fagbemi battled for the control of the leadership of the party with their two groups.

Led by the former factional assistant publicity secretary of the party in the state, Oluwafemi Yusuf, the aggrieved youths insisted that the dissolution was in bad faith and asked the national leadership of the PDP to reverse its decision, warning that there was no justification for such.

They argued that the state congress, which re-elected Oyedepo in May 10, last year, was successfully conducted in the presence of delegation from the National Secretariat of the party, officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission and security agents in line with electoral law.

The youths said: "We the concerned Kwara PDP Youths received the news of dissolution of Kwara State PDP Exco led by Akogun Iyiola Oyedepo with great shock and bemusement because there was no justification for such dissolution.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Jimoh Akani     Mamatu Abdullahi     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Agbarere     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Millennium Development Goals     Oju Ekun Sarumi     IEDPU     Kazeem Adekanye     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Mohammed Lawal     Yakubu Dogara     Isau     Saad Omo Iya     Bayo Onimago     Mufti Of Ilorin     Ajasse-Ipo     Femi Ogunsola     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Micheal Imoudu     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Gbajabiamila     VADA     Gambari     Yinka Aluko     Anilelerin     Sandal     Babatunde Ajeigbe     March 28     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Moshood Mustapha     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Suleiman Abubakar     Goodluck Jonathan     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Balogun Fulani     Amuda Bembe     Ijakadi     Reuben Paraje     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Dogara     Idofin     Elections     Post Utme     Amusa Bello     Aro Yahaya     Taofeek Sanusi     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Erin-ile     Quran     April 11     Rafiu Ibrahim     Moronfoye     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Saad Omo'ya     Malete     Fatai Olodo     Matthew Babaoye     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Oke-Ero     Presidential Election     Ilorin South     Taofik Mustapha     Cornelius Adebayo     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Samuel Adaramola     Omu-aran     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     JAAC     Hausa     Muhammadu Buhari     Sabo-Oke     Omoniyi Ayinla     Cassava Growers' Association