KWASU don for Literature Prize

Date: 2017-09-07

Professor Tanure Ojaide, Head of Mass Communication Department, Kwara State University (KWASU), Malete, is one of the three finalists for the 2017 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literature.

Ojaide's entry, Songs of myself: Quartet, was shortlisted for the Nigeria LNG-sponsored $100,000 Literature Prize, alongside A Good Mourning written by Ogaga Ifowodo, and The Heresiad by Ikeogu Oke.

This followed an initial shortlist of 11 released in July by the Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo-led Advisory Board.

A statement by the General Manager, External Relations, Nigeria LNG Limited, stated that The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children's literature.

The 2017 Prize is for poetry and comes with a cash award prize of $100,000, the statement added.

It revealed that a total of 184 entries for the prize were received this year, while next year's prize will be for drama.

The statement quoted Professor Emeritus Banjo to have declared that the eventual winner of the competition would be announced at a World Press Conference in October, 2017.

Ojaide’s Songs of myself: Quartet, published by Kraft Books Ltd, explores paradoxes in contemporary times presented in discursive lyricism. It reflects the journey to the deepest vicissitudes of the adventurer himself.

Ojaide, who won the 2016 Nigerian National Order of Merit in Humanities, is a Fellow in Writing of the University of Iowa. He has won several awards, including the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Africa Region, the All-Africa Okigbo Prize for Poetry, the BBC Arts and Africa Poetry Award and the Association of Nigerian Authors Poetry Award.

In a congratulatory message, the Vice-Chancellor, Kwara State University, Prof. AbdulRasheed Na’Allah, said KWASU is greatly honoured by Ojaide's excellent feat.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Kale Bayero     Gbenga Awoyale     Zulu Gambari     Police Commissioner     Malete     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Kwara Liberation Group     Kwara Restoration Project     Solomon Edoja     Basit Olatunji     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Moses Afolayan     Ekiti     Kale Belgore     Moji Makanjuola     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Olushola Saraki     Gabriel Fashanu     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Olusola Saraki     Oloje     Tunde Oyawoye     Jebba     Oloye     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Adeleke Ogungbe     Mohammed Abduraheem     Bamikole Omishore     Hamza Usman     Ilorin International Airport     Bello Bature     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Computer Based Test     Pategi     Plat Technologies     Tunji Moronfoye     Alaiye     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Federal Allocation     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Alabi Lawal     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Shonga     Abdulkadir Orire     Moses Salami     NYSC     NaAllah     Simeon Ajibola     Babata     Revenue Court     Village Alive Development Association     Lak Jimoh     Offa Poly     Ahmed     Galland Marcias     Taofik Mustapha     Ariyo     08001000100     Oba Abdulrahim     Yekeen Alabi     Kwara 2019     Tunde Yusuf     GRA     Ijakadi     Mustapha Akanbi     March 28     Post Utme     Anilelerin     Tunde Saad     Ganmo     Taofik Abdulkareem