Police question two monarchs as new yam war kills four in Kwara

Date: 2017-07-17

The two feuding monarchs of Iloffa and Odo-Owa in Oke-Ero local government areas of Kwara State, now under surveillance of security agencies, would not have engaged in avoidable acrimony over who has the right to first sell new yam in the market, looking back at the gargantuan calamities that befell the two communities in the five days the crisis lasted.

Sunday Vanguard gathered that one of the monarchs had felt insulted that the other he considered junior in status had the boldness to first sell new yam in the market in the buffer zone between the two communities without his consent, and then hell was let loose.

Though the state commissioner of police, Mr Lawan Ado, confirmed one dead in the communal crisis, Sunday Vanguard understood that four persons, including a man, who had accompanied his wife to buy yam in the market were killed.

Also, no fewer than 20 houses were razed by irate youths of both communities.

Kwara State Police Command interrogated the Odo-Owa and Iloffa monarchs twice penultimate week over the communal clash. Also, the state government imposed curfew on the two communities to restore peace in the area while the police claimed they had arrested one person who could lead to the arrest of others behind the disturbance. The police had requested from the monarchs the cause of the hostilities and cautioned them after their release to return to their communities and ensure peace.

The state commissioner of police, Ado, had visited the warring communities, penultimate weekend, to assess the extent of damage.

The two monarchs, Oba Joshua Oloruntoba, the Adimula of Odo-Owa, and Oba Samuel Niyi Dada of Ilofa, had allegedly fled their palaces following gun battle between the youths of the feuding communities from the morning of the day of mayhem till the afternoon when soldiers were drafted to quell the trouble. Soldiers from Sobi Barracks Ilorin were still keeping vigil at the warring communities at press time.

Iloffa was said to have had the highest number of damaged properties while two buildings were torched in Odo-Owa. Sunday Vanguard also learnt that most of those who died were natives of Odo-Owa.

The senator representing Kwara South, Rafiu Ibrahim, commiserated with the victims of the communal clash and urged the warring communities to embrace dialogue on contentious issues. Meanwhile, the state government has suspended all activities related to yam festival in the Oke Ero area. It also raised a judicial commission of inquiry to probe the disturbance. A statement by the Secretary to State Government Alhaji Isiaka Sola Gold quoted Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed as saying he will bring the full weight of the law to bear on any individual who may have been part of the communal crisis.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Akorede     Cbt     Fulani     Zaratu Umar     Yinka Aluko     Government House     Durosinlohun Atiku     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Sherif Shagaya     Ope Saraki     JAAC     Omu Aran     Nurudeen Muhammed     KWATMA     Maigida Soludero Transit     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Kwara State Governor     Wasiu Odewale     Moshood Mustapha     Hassan Saliu     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Idofin     EFCC     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Tafida Of Kaiama     Sunday Otokiti     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Makama     Offa     Sabo-Oke     Abubakar B.M     Abegunde Goke     Akeem Olatunji     Al-Ilory     Mamatu Abdullahi     GANZY     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Amuda Aluko     Kayode Ibrahim     School Of Nursing     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Micheal Imoudu     Oniwasi Agbaye     Olusegun Adeniyi     Sandal     Obasanjo     Elections     Aremu Odolaye     Okasanmi Ajayi     AIT Ilorin     Oloyede     Solomon Edojah     Lafiagi     Olaiya Zuberu     Post Utme     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Amuda Bembe     Kaiama     Balogun Gambari     Belgore     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Ladi Hassan     Igbaja     Kazeem Adekanye     Afonja     Saadu Alanamu     Niyi Osundare     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Moshood Bakare     Saad Omo Iya     Bashirat Bola Bello     IFK     Yunus Oniboki     Kwara United     Toyin Sanusi