Those calling for Saraki's recall faceless, unscrupulous - Balogun

Date: 2017-07-16

The Kwara State Central Senatorial District has reacted to the purported call for the recall of the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, describing those involved as unpatriotic and enemies of progress.

Addressing a large number of party supporters at the party’s senatorial office in Ajase Ipo, Irepodun Local Government Area of the state, the senatorial chairman, Alhaji Jimoh Balogun, said the wish of those involved was to destroy and relegate the position of Kwara in the scheme of things in the country.

He described such people, especially those who claimed to be Kwara southerners, as faceless and unscrupulous elements, who had no stake in affairs of the area.

The senatorial chairman’s speech read: “It has been brought to our notice that some individuals, who claimed to be Kwara Southerners, called for a recall of the Senate President, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki.

“We say emphatically that those involved are unpatriotic and are enemies of progress of Kwara State, as their only wish is to destroy and relegate the position of Kwara State in the committee of other states in Nigeria.

“I say without any apology that those involved are not representing the good people of Kwara State and that they are faceless and unscrupulous.

“It is unfortunate that some level of government do not appoint people that would truly represent the interest of their constituencies, thereby representing the interest of the majority of the people. They could be Abuja-based politicians, who have no base in his constituency, and therefore cannot be representing the interest of his community or his constituency.”

He added: “Kwarans are in complete support of the activities and achievement of the peoples’ leader and mentor in the Senate.”

He said Saraki had represented the senatorial district well, citing the example of the Senator representing Kwara South Senatorial District, Dr Rafiu Adebayo Ibrahim, whom he described as “a shining light in the hallowed chambers.”

Balogun also said: “Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki, is a true and great democrat and a true parliamentarian. He is a committed and devoted party man, who ensured that the APC in Kwara State has a clean sweep of all the electoral positions. He has zero tolerance for corruption.”

He called on the executive arm of government to desist from what he described as “all activities that could undermine the working relationship with thelegislature and work to bring good governance to the people of Nigeria.

“Bukola Saraki has a formidable political structure that has spanned over five decades in Kwara State and we remain committed to the ideals of democracy and good governance at all levels. Bukola Saraki is our role model,” he stated.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abubakar Suleiman     Ayinke Saka     Moronfoye     Akeem Olatunji     Jimoh Akani     Moro     Yekeen Alabi     Mohammed Abduraheem     Amuda Aluko     Sa'ad Alanamu     Harmony Holdings     Kale Ayo     Saka Saadu     Nupe     SGBN     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Matthew Babaoye     Labaeka     Kwara State Government     Sanusi Abubakar     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Bayo Ajia     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Al-Adaby     Ayinde Oyepitan     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Kanu Agabi     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Ilesha-Baruba     Ahmad Lawan     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Hassan Oyeleke     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     BIR     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Okasanmi Ajayi     Bola Shagaya     Mogaji Aare     Muhammadu Buhari     Vasolar Consortium     AbdulRauf Keji     Salake     Gbemisola Saraki     Mohammed Abdulahi     Oko     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Daud Adeshola     Sulyman Buhari     Ahmed     Tinubu     Senate President     Babaita     Balogun Fulani     Leke Ogungbe     Kwara Apc     Isau     Mohammed Danjuma     Fatai Garuba Labaka     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Odolaye Aremu     Ganmo     Kwarareports     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Hassan A. Saliu     ARMTI     Kwara 2015     Ayo Salami     Isiaka Abdulrazak     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Oloje     Rueben Parejo     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Malete     Ali Ahmad     John Dara     Innocent Okoye