Lalong, Oyinlola sign in for Kwara anniversary golf tourney

Date: 2017-07-14
Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong has confirmed that he would be among participating amateur golfers at the closing rounds of the Kwara at fifty Golf Championship this weekend.

Lalong, a passionate golfer, would be joining the list that includes the host governor, Abdufatah Ahmed, newly elected President of the Nigeria Golf Federation (NGF), Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, among others, for the closing 36-hole round for amateur players tomorrow.

Luqman Owolewa, a former NGF board member, who is consulting for the event, hinted that more key players would be arriving the Kwara State capital today from Lagos, Abuja, Rivers, Oyo and other states.

"The event has received entries from almost all parts of the country and so far we are expecting at least 250 amateur players to show up, most hotels are at 80 per cent capacity as at today (yesterday) and we are waiting for most of the 138 players that took part in the opening rounds to make room for the amateurs in from Friday," he said.

The event weekend event, which will also feature lady golfers, will see all female players getting free cervical and breast cancer screening courtesy of LEAH Foundation, a pet project of the first lady of the state, Mrs. Omolewa Ahmed.

Professional golfers had teed-off the championship on Tuesday. It serves as qualifier for an international event billed for Equatorial Guinea later in the year, as well as a point earner for the players’ ranking b y the Professional Golfers’ Association of Nigeria (PGAN) Order of Merit.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Matthew Babaoye     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Ayinke Saka     Local Government     Al-Ilory     Kannike     Tunji Arosanyin     EFCC     UTME     Kwara     Minister     Oniwa     Umar Ahmed Gunu     NURTW     Ubandawaki     Oniwasi Agbaye     Durosinlohun Kawu     Olugbense     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Gbemi Saraki     Muhammadu Gobir     Kale Bayero     Taofik Mustapha     Aiyedun     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Afolayan     Abdulkadir Orire     Tafidan Kaiama     Elerinjare     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Abdulazeez Arowona     Lak Jimoh     Bashirat Bola Bello     Tanke     Ahman Patigi     Micheal Imoudu     Onilu     Sobi Specialist Hospital     NSCIA     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Kunle Suleiman     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Olomu     Bature Bello     Ilofa     Idowu Aremu     Awili Pedro     Igbomina     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Tsaragi/Share     Sebastine Obasi     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     CBT     Rueben Parejo     Musa Yeketi     Dauda Adesola     Rotimi Atere     Moro     Idiagbon     Balogun Fulani     Onikijipa     Playing Host     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Sunday Fagbemi     Balogun Ajikobi     Ojuekun     Oyin-Zubair     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Haliru Dantoro     Durosinlohun Atiku     Kulende-UITH     Ganmo     Bayo Ajia     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Ilesha-Baruba