ASUU raises alarm on 'plan' to sack members in UNILORIN

Date: 2017-07-11

The Ibadan Zone of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has raised alarm on an alleged move by the University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) Governing Council to terminate the appointments of its top members. The union said its members, who blew the whistle to expose alleged unwholesome practices in the school, were being subjected to official victimisation by the school management, noting that UNILORIN has become a lawless body that shows no regard for rule of law.

ASUU fingered the outgoing UNILORIN Vice-Chancellor (VC), Prof Abdulganiyu Ambali, as the mastermind of the plot, pointing out that the lecturers' body would not be suppressed in exposing the Ambali's "shady dealings" despite victimisation against its members.

In a statement titled: Planned sack of ASUU whistle blowers in UNILORIN by Governing Council, signed by the Zonal Coordinator, Dr Ade Adejumo, ASUU urged the UNILORIN Governing Council chairman, Dr. Jubril Oyekan, to resist being dragged into the crisis, adding that effort should be made to rescue the school from sliding further into infamy.

It named the officials as the ASUU chairman in UNILORIN, Dr. Kolawole Afolayan, and Secretary, Dr. Solomon Oyelekan, who were suspended.

ASUU urged the Governing Council members not to bow to the pressure to terminate the appointments of the affected staff. The lecturers' body called on the Federal Government and supervising agencies to prevail on the school to stop the "continuous harassment of critical voices of dissent" in the university.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Playing Host     Abdulwahab Ololele     Tafida Of Kaiama     Borgu     Yahaya Abdulkareem     TIC     AbdulHamid Adi     Valsolar     John Obuh     Oke-Odo     Oniwasi Agbaye     Ahmad Ali     Ishola Abdullahi     Taofik Mustapha     Rueben Parejo     Oyelere Oyinloye     Olusegun Adeniyi     Elelu     Kwara Liberation Group     Balogun Gambari     Oloye     Isapa     Oyawoye     Tunde Oyawoye     Buari Edun     Saraki     Akeem Lawal     Musa Alhassan Buge     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Saka Isau     Ilota     Al-Adaby     Alimi Abdulrazaq     KWASAA     Babaita     Femi Gbajabiamila     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ifelodun     Sunday Otokiti     Suleiman Ajadi     Demola Banu     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Saka Onimago     JAMB     Olusola Saraki     Isin     Saheed Popoola     A.E. Afolabi     Salihu Ajia     Awili Pedro     Fulani     Amoyo     Christopher Odetunde     Opobiyi     Bature Bello     Mohammed Danjuma     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Kayode Issa     Ajikobi     Esuwoye     Isiaka Oniwa     Segun Adeniyi     Yakubu Dogara     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Shehu Alimi Foundation     Afonja     Sebastine Obasi     Ramadhan     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Abdulwahab Oba     Olateju Lukman     Oke-Oyi     Yoruba     Edu     Idowu Aremu     Orisun Igbomino     Millennium Development Goals