Governor Ahmed Commissions First Cooperative MFB in Ilorin

Date: 2017-07-11

Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara State has commissioned the first cooperative financial institution, KWACOFOCUS Micro Finance Bank (MFB) in Ilorin to provide more access to credit for farmers and small business owners in the state.

Ahmed, while speaking at the occasion, said his government had ensured inclusive financial system to grow and expand businesses in the state.

He said the financial assistance was providing existing businesses with access to capital at single digit interest rate.

He pointed out that in spite of relevance of funding to business, his government holds the agricultural sector in high esteem owing to the potential of the sector to create employment and generate revenue through investment opportunities in the agricultural value chain.

The governor urged members of the public, especially the youth to take advantage of the services of the bank and access funding to grow their businesses.

In her address, chairman, Board of Directors of the bank, Hajia Zururat Romoke Zubair, said the financial institution was set up to complement the effort of the government in the areas of agric development and sustainable empowerment for rural farmers, financial inclusion for rural women and youths, support for the growth and development of small scale businesses and easy accessibility to finance.

She said 80 per cent of the bank's credit had been earmarked for agricultural cooperative societies and urged farmers and small scale business owners to partner with it.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kamaldeen Ajibade     Bolakale Ayo     Maigida Soludero Transit     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Ajibike Katibi     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Plat Technologies     Bahago     Modibo Kawu     Gabriel Fashanu     Sa'ad Alanamu     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Rex Olawoye     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Oke-Ero     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Gbemisola Saraki     Gbenga Olawepo     Yunus Oniboki     Taiwo Joseph     Kwara Central     Orisun Igbomino     Onilorin     Amusa Bello     Ojuekun Sarumi     Olaosebikan     Modibbo Kawu     S.O. Opowoye     Abdulwahab Oba     Yoonus Lawal     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Ilorin Central Mosque     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Unilorin     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Akorede     Obuh     Ope Saraki     Bayo Lawal     Imam Gambari     Millennium Development Goals     Halimat Yusuf     Kwabes     Rafiu Ibrahim     Hassan A. Saliu     Baba Isale     Elections     Ayinde Oyepitan     Kwara Apc     Christopher Ayeni     Aiyedun     Shonga Farm Project     Shaaba Lafiagi     Awili Pedro     Al-Adaby     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Isaac Gbenle     Roseline Oni Aremu     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Makama     Ijagbo Health Centre     Apaola     Basit Olatunji     Adamu Attah     Olofa Of Offa     AGF Abdulrazak     Ilorin South     Ejidongari     Idi-Ape     2017 Budget     Medview Airlines     Amuda Bembe     Egbejila     Kishira     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe