Ooni elated as Kwara monarch traces root to Ile-Ife

Date: 2017-07-10

Ekan Meje, located at the border of Kwara, Ekiti and Osun States, was founded some centuries ago when their ancestors left Ile-Ife, regarded as the cradle of the Yoruba race and civilization.

The people of Ekan Meje Kingdom in Oke Ero Local Government Area of Kwara State recently consolidated their history when leaders of the community led by the paramount ruler, Oba Michael Adeyemi, visited Ile-Ife, Osun State to pay homage to the Ooni, Oba Enitan Ogunwusi.

Ekan Meje, located at the border of Kwara, Ekiti and Osun States, was founded some centuries ago when their ancestors left Ile-Ife, regarded as the cradle of the Yoruba race and civilization.

An elated Oba Adeyemi explained to journalists at the Ooni's palace that the visit was a great home coming for his people who have been looking forward to a great day like this. He thanked Oba Ogunwusi for the warm reception and the community leaders for the logistics of the trip.

The Ooni, who took the visitors to the ancestral site of their forefathers before the migration, thanked the delegation for the historic visit and promised to visit Ekan very soon. He also took the visiting Oba round his palace and some important sites around the palace.

Tradition has it that the Elekan and his uncle, Oore of Otun, emerged from the Okun Moba (Moba Sea) in the present coastal area of Lagos, with a calabash containing water in his hand, beads around his neck and a beaded crown on his head.

Some of the places they passed through after Ile-Ife included Akure, Oke Olodun and Ipole before moving to the present site over 400 years ago.

It is also recorded by tradition that the migration of Oore, Elekan and their people from one location to the other as stated above was not due to conquest at war or threat to internal security of his people.

In fact, Otun and Ekan were never conquered by any community or subjugated under any kingdom of old.

Otun and Ekan were neither under the old Oyo Empire nor under Benin Kingdom. It was never under the control of Ibadan warrior who dominated most of the areas in the present South West of Nigeria.

Meanwhile, the people of Ekan-Meje have renewed their appeal to the state Governor, Dr. Abdulfatah Ahmed, to elevate the Elekan of Eka-Meje to a First Class Oba.

The National President of Ekan Development Association, Prof. Adebayo Omotosho, who made the appeal on behalf of the community, maintained that the Elekan has been the most senior Oba in the history of the present Oke-Ero Local Government Area.

According to Ilorin Province Gazetter, Otun Ekiti undertook some critical actions separating their activities from Ilorin Division from the early 1900 to 1936 A partition scheme was later introduced, which granted Ekan-meje, Ilofa local autonomy under the direct administration of the Emir of Ilorin. These changes left Otun with 11 villages under its governance.

Ekan and four other villages were thereafter subjected under the Elekan of Ekan, while Olobo Ilofa was independent in charge of his territory.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Babatunde Idiagbon     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     A.E. Afolabi     Patience Jonathan     Niyi Osundare     Allocation     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Oke-Kura     Tsaragi-Share     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Mohammed Haruna     Funmilayo Oniwa     Balogun Fulani     Okedare     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Kisira     Tsaragi     Bolaji Abdullahi     Kayode Ogunlowo     Awili Pedro     Florence Saraki     Elekoyangan     Oluwole Dupe     John Dara     Saad Omo'ya     Igbomina     Ramadan     Kawu     Oke-Ogun     Bankole Omisore     Odo-Owa     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Oba Abu     Najim Yaasin     Mohammed Danjuma     JAMB     Henry Olaosebikan     Belgore     Buari Edun     Femtech     Sebastine Obasi     Transition Implementation Committee     College Of Education     Tafida Of Kaiama     Lawan     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Afolayan     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Elections     Nupe     Rotimi Atere     Kazeem Adekanye     Vasolar Consultoria     Alaiye     Shehu Salau     Bankole Omishore     Bukola Ajikobi     International Vocational Centre     KWACOBPA     Nurudeen Muhammed     Kishira     Erin-ile     Ajasse-Ipo     Hassan Saliu     Salman Alada     Government House     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Shonga Farm Project     Nurudeen Mohammed     Innocent Okoye     Sanusi Abubakar     Tsaragi/Share     Issa Oloruntogun     Moro