104,000 UTME candidates apply for UNILORIN's 10,000 slots

Date: 2017-05-19

No fewer than 104,000 candidates chose University of Ilorin, UNILORIN, in the ongoing Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination, UTME, for the 2017/2018 academic session admission, while it has 10,000 spaces.

The institutioní#'s Vice Chancellor, Professor Abdulganiyu Ambali, who disclosed this, yesterday, at the 40th anniversary of the Department of History and International Studies of the university, noted that "the demand for admission into the university is due to its peaceful and stable academic calendar."

The Vice Chancellor, who was represented at the event by the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Management Services, Professor Adedayo Yusuf Abdulkareem, also said infrastructure, accreditation of courses and the academic abilities of students and graduates of the university, made the institution attractive to admission seekers.

Chairman of the occasion, Alhaji Lasisi Jimoh, said the prevailing mutual distrust and hatred among various people in the country had triggered clamour for restructuring. He added that "we must also study history because it is divine to do so, since all the major religions of the world teach us history."

In his remarks, the Head of Department of History and International Studies, Dr. Ibrahim Jawondo, called on corporate organisations and individuals to assist the department meet part of its infrastructure needs aimed at improving academics.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Esuwoye     Ola Falade     Gambari     Patigi Regatta     Ojo Fadumila     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Sandal     Omotoso     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Kazeem Adekanye     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Oke-oyi     Galland Marcias     Tunji Moronfoye     Harmony Holdings     Moro     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     NURTW     Aiyedun     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Kulende     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Yoonus Lawal     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Tunji Arosanyin     BIR     AbdulHamid Adi     High Court     Kaiama     Mustapha Akanbi     School Of Nursing     Oba Abu     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Sunday Otokiti     Sam Okaula     Tsaragi     Allocation     Michael Ologundea     Abubakar Suleiman     Kwabes     Gbajabiamila     Yinka Aluko     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Hassan A. Saliu     Ilorin West     Oniye     Omotosho     Olushola Saraki     Muhammed Abdullahi     Gbemi Saraki     Baboko     Mufti Of Ilorin     Ajeigbe     Shonga     Saraki     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Lawan     Press Release     Kayode Oyin Zubair     Shehu Salau     Emir Of Ilorin     Albert Ogunsola     Seni Saraki     Kayode Ibrahim     Www.Kwarareports.com     Lai Mohammed     Shoprite     College Of Health     Hausa     Elections     Kawu     Tsaragi-Share     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Inside Kwara     Bankole Omishore     Idiagbon     Idowu Aremu