FRSC arrests over 50 motorists in Kwara

Date: 2017-05-18

The FRSC Sector Commander in the state, Mr Sunday Maku, disclosed this in an interview with in llorin on Wednesday.

The Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) in Kwara has arrested more than 50 commercial drivers for failure to install the Speed Limiting Device on their vehicles.

The FRSC Sector Commander in the state, Mr Sunday Maku, disclosed this in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in llorin on Wednesday Maku said the violators were arrested across the three senatorial districts of the state while on their way to neighouring states.

He said enforcement of the device was a continuous exercise, and that it was aimed at reducing road accidents to the barest minimum. He urged commercial drivers in the state to install the device on their vehicles to avoid arrest.

He said the command would further intensify its enlightenment campaign on the necessity of the use of the device by commercial drivers.

The Chairman of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Kwara branch, Alhaji Aliyu lssa- Ore, however, told NAN that the union's members were not among the 50 arrested by the corps.

Issa-Ore said the union had been sensitising its members to the importance of the device to road safety.NAN

Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Yeketi     Borgu     Abdulwahab Ololele     Suleiman Ajadi     Jani Ibrahim     Awili Pedro     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Millennium Development Goals     Erubu Oba Zubair     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Unilorin FM     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Atunwa     Erin-ile     Dele Belgore     Lai Mohammed     Ilesha-Baruba     Innocent Okoye     Jebba     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Vasolar Consortium     Amoyo     Zaratu Umar     Kale Bayero     Kawu     Suleman Abubakar     Sebastine Obasi     Kulende     Ramadhan     Osi     Ohoro Of Shao     Elelu     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Tunji Moronfoye     Isin     Bolakale Ayo     Issa Oloruntogun     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Hassan Oyeleke     Roseline Oni Aremu     Afolayan     Ike Ekweremadu     Ojuekun Sarumi     SUBEB     Ilorin     Kayode Ogunlowo     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     Share     Tanke     Obuh     Taofeek Sanusi     NSCIA     Kwasu     Kisira     Omupo     Bello Bature     Maigida     Oluwole Dupe     March 28     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Na'Allah     Kwara Restoration Project     Garba Ayodele Wahab     IDPU     College Of Health     Akeem Lawal     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Igbaja     Shagari     Ibrahim Gambari     Olatunji Moronfoye     NYSC     Oko-Erin     Women For Change And Development Initiative     Oba Abdulraheem