300 UITH resident doctors threaten monthly strike

Date: 2017-05-14

Over 300 members of the Association of Resident Doctors, University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital Chapter, Kwara State, have vowed to embark on five days of strike each month until their demands for the payment of outstanding entitlements are met.

Chairman of the chapter, Dr. Ige Kolawole, told journalists in Ilorin, the capital, on Friday that members of the association were currently on a three-day warning strike.

The first phase of the strike, which he said commenced on Thursday, will end on Sunday.

Kolawole alleged that since 2014, when entitlements of doctors were increased nationwide, UITH had yet to pay their full entitlements.

According to him, they had each been shortchanged to the tune of about N100, 000 monthly; a situation he said would be reported to their national leadership. Chief Medical Director of the hospital, Prof. Abdulwaheed Olatinwo, denied the allegations, insisting that the balance owed the workers was about N20, 000 each.

He stated that the management of the hospital had compiled the arrears and communicated same to the appropriate quarters.

Olatinwo appealed to the striking doctors to be patient, adding that the management was working towards addressing the shortfall.

He said, "The management of the UITH wishes to acknowledge awareness of agitations of members of the hospitalís chapter of the ARD, over the non-payment of certain allowances of its members.

"The management is in the process of forwarding the outstanding liabilities on skipping and relativity allowances as requested by the Federal Ministry of Health. "While we await the approval and release of funds from relevant quarters, the management will appreciate continuous discharge of doctorsí duties to the patients."


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Sherif Sagaya     Segun Olawoyin     Afolayan     KSIRS     Kwara State Government     Sheriff Shagaya     Adebara     Gbemi Saraki     Aro Yahaya     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     AbdulRauf Keji     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Bukola Ajikobi     Labaeka     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Rapheal Ashaolu     Maigida Soludero Transit     Haliru Dantoro     Ejidongari     Saka Adeyemo     Esuwoye     Ijagbo Health Centre     Oniyangi     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     April 11     George Innih     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Shehu Salau     Musa Alhassan Buge     Abdulkadir Orire     Atunwa     V.O. Abioye     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Femi Ogunsola     Dairo Kunle Paul     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Kanu Agabi     Ahmad Ali     Biliaminu Aliu     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Femi Gbajabiamila     Saka Onimago     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Kale Ayo     Ayeni     Yunus Oniboki     SUBEB     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Council Of The Wise     Oniwasi Agbaye     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Isiaka Oniwa     Tsaragi-Share     Sa'adu Gambari     Bature Bello     Unilorin FM     National Pilot     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     Olateju Lukman     Adamu Attah     Unilorin     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Ayinde Oyepitan     Olatunji Bamgbola     Bamikole Omishore     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Tsaragi     College Of Health     Kwara North     Akanbi-Oke     Bilikisu Gambari     Kwara Pdp     Moji Makanjuola     Vasolar