APC members reject defection of PDP chieftain in Kwara

Date: 2017-03-02

Members of the APC in Shonga, Edu Local Government Area of Kwara, on Wednesday rejected the defection of a chieftain of the PDP in the state, Alhaji Abubakar Ndakene, saying he failed to comply with the party's constitution.

The party members, in their resolution at a meeting in Shonga, said Ndakene did not follow due process as stated in the constitution.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ndakene was a former commissioner in the National Population Commission.

The party members said that Ndakene, who left the party on the eve of the 2015 general elections must report to the executive at the ward level for appropriate step to validate his defection.

The party members also said the purported defection declaration of Ndakene at the residence of the Kwara North Senatorial Chairman of the party, Alhaji Isiaka Oniwa, was illegal and had been rejected.

Alhaji Mohammed Kasim, the Chairman of Shonga Ward I, where Ndakene hailed from, said that the return of the PDP chieftain could result in crisis if not properly managed.

He also said since he was not involved in the partyís victory in the 2015 elections, he should wait till after the 2019 elections to file his application.

Kasim said Shonga Ward I, II and III were also not aware of his defection because it was not done at the ward level as required by the partyís rules and regulations.

Reacting to the resolutions at the meeting, Alhaji Shaba Musa, a leader of the party in the district, said the wish of the majority would prevail.

He, however, urged party members to be calm as he urged the state leadership to take up the case and ensure justice was done in the interest of the majority. (NAN)


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Salman Alada     Omu-aran     Kwara Restoration Project     Odolaye Aremu     Boko Haram     Henry Makinwa     Gafaru Olayiwola Olorisade     Aiyedun     Oye Tinuoye     Fulani     NAWOJ     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Baaziki Sulaiman     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Alao Ayotunde     April 11     Tayo Alao     Shoprite     Tafidan Kaiama     Photo News     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Suleiman Idris     Kwara State Governor     Mohammed Lawal     Olugbense     Ilorin Emirate     Idi-Ape     Omotoso     Kwara Pdp     Elections     Tsaragi     Ilorin     Sango-UITH Road     Guber Aspirant     Shonga     Al-Ilory     Medview Airlines     Hamza Usman     Bamikole Omishore     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Isiaka Gold     Muhammadu Buhari     Nurudeen Mohammed     Balogun Gambari     John Obuh     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Sandal     Ayinke Saka     Florence Saraki     Tope Daramola     Elekoyangan     JAAC     Kwarareports.com     Kwara Liberation Group     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Federal Allocation     Ayeni     Anilelerin     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Musa Yeketi     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Isiaka Oniwa     Femi Gbajabiamila     Nurudeen Muhammed     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Sarah Jubril     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Olayinka Olaogun     Daud Adeshola     Ali Ahmad     LEAH Charity Foundation     College Of Health     Modibo Kawu     Yunus Lawal     Abdulrazaq Adebayo