Kwara confirms residents have started receiving N5000 alert

Date: 2017-01-05

The Kwara Government has confirmed that some targeted residents in the state have started having their accounts credited with the Federal Government's N5000 stipend since last Friday.

The state Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development, Hajia Ayinke Saka, confirmed this to newsmen in Ilorin on Wednesday.

Saka said that the beneficiaries spread across the 16 local government areas of the state.

According to her, beneficiaries of the scheme included residents from Ilorin West, Ilorin East and Ilorin South.

She attributed the delay experienced by some of the beneficiaries in receiving the alert to difficulty in opening bank accounts and verification numbers.

However, Saka assured that the problem would be rectified while others will start getting alert by next week.

She disclosed that more than 10,000 Kwarans were expected to benefit from the scheme and assured all beneficiaries that they would be catered for in the social investment programmes.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the monthly stipend is for the most vulnerable and poorest people in the country through the Cash Conditional Cash Transfer initiated by the present administration.

The scheme is one of the federal governmentís social investment programmes.

NAN also recalls that the Senior Special Assistant to the Vice President on Media and Publicity, Mr Laolu Akande, had in a statement said one million Nigerians would receive N5000 monthly payment as a form of social safety net for the poorest and most vulnerable in the society.

The amount was captured in the 2016 budget that would run up til May this year.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

NaAllah     Anilelerin     Abdulraheem Olesin     Quran     Alao Ayotunde     KWTV     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     S.O. Opowoye     TIC     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Irepodun     Roseline Oni Aremu     Ahmad Ali     Oyun     Isin     KSIRS     Adesoye     Split Diamond Interchange     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Cassava Growers' Association     Babaita     EFCC     Ilorin Central Mosque     Ilorin East     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Oke-oyi     Gbenga Olawepo     Tayo Alao     Elections     Ibrahim Labaika     Saheed Popoola     Salary     Na'Allah     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Lola Ashiru     Eruku     Shaaba Lafiagi     IEDPU     Federal Allocation     Joseph Daudu     Olusola Saraki     Odolaye Aremu     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Oke-Ero     Ejidongari     Gbemi Saraki     Oba Abdulraheem     Inside Kwara     Toyin Sanusi     Owode Market     Moshood Bakare     Abdulkadir Orire     Kawu     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Kwara United     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Kale Ayo     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Imam Gambari     Kishira     Aro Yahaya     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Kwara State Governor     Rex Olawoye     Iyabo Adewuyi     2017 Budget     Moses Salami     Oloyede     Mustapha Olanipekun     Zaratu Umar     Ahmed     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Offa Descendants Union     Local Government Pension Board     Zulu Gambari