Ijakadi Festival: Lai Mohammed hails revival of centuries-old festival, promises support

Date: 2016-11-17

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, has hailed the revival of the centuries-old ''Ijakadi Festival'' by the Offa Kingdom in Kwara State, assuring that the festival will be one of the beneficiaries of the training for festival managers being planned by the Ministry in collaboration with its partners.

The Minister gave the assurance in Abuja on Wednesday when he received a delegation of the Offa Descendants Union (ODU), which came to formally invite him to the festival, scheduled for Offa 29 Dec. 2016, on behalf of the town's monarch.

He said the decision to revive the traditional wrestling festival, which dates back to the 14th century, is in line with the ongoing efforts by the present administration to leverage on the creative industries in the diversification of the nation's economy.

Alhaji Mohammed said the festival has the potentials to attract domestic and international tourists to Offa, thus impacting positively on the economy of the town and the state.

''We will provide the enabling environment for the festival, as well as similar ones across the country, to achieve their full potentials,'' the Minister said, adding that he was ''humbled and honoured'' to receive the delegation that was led by ODU President, Alhaji Najeem Usman Yasin.

While accepting the invitation to attend the festival, he commended the ''resilience, honour, principle and industry'' of the Offa people, saying the qualities are responsible for the uniqueness of the town.

Speaking earlier, the ODU President urged the federal government to support the festival to enable it achieve its full potentials and boost culture and tourism in the community as well as the entire Kwara State.

''We want the Ijakadi Festival to be included in the list of festivals being promoted by the Ministry because of its rich cultural content,'' said Alhaji Yasin, who noted that his delegation came to invite the Minister as a Special Guest of Honour.

While congratulating the Minister on the first anniversary of his assumption of office, the ODU President commended him for bringing to his new assignment the same passion with which he successfully carried out his responsibility as the National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Ijakadi Festival, which was revived in 2012 after a three-decades lull, reinforces a tradition that encourages strength and determination, in addition to addressing the notion of equality among the indigenes of Offa.

Also on the ODU delegation were the 1st Vice President of ODU, Alhaji Bashir Adetokun Adepoju; the ODU Treasurer, Mrs. Mulikat Aliyu, and the ODU Secretary-General, Chief (Mrs) Wasilat Tinuke Macarthy,

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Isau     General Hospital     Biliaminu Aliu     Seni Saraki     Baruten     Musibau Akanji     Federal Allocation     Musa Alhassan Buge     Ilorin.Info     Ahmad Ali     Florence Saraki     Mohammed Yisa     Kale Belgore     Adebara     Unilorin     Zaratu Umar     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Bature Bello     Post Utme     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Babatunde Idiagbon     Kola Ologbondiyan     Kwara Central     Erubu Oba Zubair     Kwara Poly     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Olusola Saraki     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Rex Olawoye     Gbenga Awoyale     Kwara Restoration Project     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Afonja     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Senate Presidency     Bureau Of Lands     Femtech     Shoprite     Bola Shagaya     Kwara Polytechnic     Bello Bature     Kola Bukoye     Wasiu Odewale     Clara Nwachukwu     Arandun     BIR     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Yusuf Ali     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Michael Ologundea     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Zulu Gambari     Egbejila     Oniwa     Ibrahim Labaika     Abdulazeez Arowona     Kwara Apc     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Amuda Musbau     Bilikisu Gambari     Funmilayo Oniwa     Isiaka Danmeromu     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     National Pilot     Oke-Oyi     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Tayo Alao     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Tunji Arosanyin     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Oyawoye     Onikijipa     Labaeka     Alagbado     Malete