Lai Mohammed's son, Desmond Elliot, Dele Ajomale, others win Lagos APC Primaries

Date: 2014-12-03

It was a bag of mixed fortunes for incumbent members of the Lagos State House of Assembly yesterday as the All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries produced a handful of surprises. 

  No fewer than eight of the sitting lawmakers lost in their constituencies, as violence later dominated proceedings at Mainland and Ifako-Ijaye areas of the state.

 There were however, conflicting figures on the numbers casualties recorded during the primary exercise held in the Arena area in the Ebute-Metta, Lagos Mainland Constituency 1, where the battle to pick party’s candidate for the Assembly poll for 2015 pitched incumbent Bashiru Oloto against Oladele Adekanye.

  Although the party’s spokesman, Joe Igbokwe confirmed the situation, saying there was crisis, but he could not ascertain the number of causalities. According to him, “We are still trying to ascertain the number of death but it has been confirmed there was crisis in Ebute Meta. That was the only place where we had issues during the primary.” 

  Meanwhile, Adekanye, who is the immediate past chairman of Mainland Local Government, defeated the current occupier, Oloto.

  Violence started following the announcement of the result by the returning officer as the camp of the loser, which felt aggrieved swooped on the opposition camp, complaining of manipulation to favour a certain candidate.

  It was also reported that lives were lost in Ojokoro in Ifako/Ijaiye Constituency, soon after the results of the exercise was announced, which was a fallout of the protest that followed the manner the exercise was conducted by party officials.

 The police were said to have moved in to arrest the situation and bring peace to the affected areas.

  Here is how sitting lawmakers faired in their constituencies: lawmaker representing Apapa II Constituency, Mufutau Egberongbe lost by 49 votes to newcomer, Mojisola Lawal’s 100. His colleague from Ifako-Ijaye II Constituency, Ipoola Omisore lost by four votes to Raheed Makinde’s 107. 

  Ramotallai Akinola-Hassan of Amuwo Odofin II Constituency and her colleague in Mainland II Constituency, Bashiru Oloto also lost the APC’s tickets in their constituencies. Wale Raufu defeated Akinola-Hassan, while the immediate past chairman of the local government; Oladele Adekanye was the nemesis for Bashiru Oloto.

  ‎Adebimpe Akinsola representing Ikorodu II Constituency and Suuru Avoseh from Badagry II Constituency also lost by delegates’ votes.

  Nollywood actor, Desmond Elliot defeated incumbent Kabiru Lawal, 214 to 44 votes for the Surulere I Constituency seat. Dele Ajomale (son of the APC State Chairman, Henry Ajomale) also defeated sitting lawmaker representing Oshodi-Isolo II Constituency, Omowunmi Olatunji-Edet.

 It was a landslide victory as Ajomale’s son, who pooled 250 votes; Moroof Ojoola had 58 votes while Edet could only muster a paltry 37 votes.

  Other newcomers that won at the primaries are: Folajinmi Jubril Lai-Muhammed (son of the APC spokesman, Lai Muhammed) won Ikeja I Constituency seat by 220 votes to defeat immediate past chairman of Ikeja LGA, who has only five votes. Speaker of the House, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, who is gunning for the guber race, currently represents Ikeja I. Sobur Olayiwola Olawale won in Mushin II Constituency, to contest for the seat that the incumbent, Bayo Yusuf Ayinla, will be vacating for House of Representatives contest. Lawmaker representing Apapa I Constituency, Alawiye-King lost having gathered just 14 votes.

  Lawmakers that, however, won their slots are the current deputy speaker, Kolawole Taiwo; Chief Whip, Dr. Rasak Balogun, Spokesperson for the House, Olulade, his colleagues representing Agege II, Yinka Ogundimu.

  Others are lawmakers representing Agege I, Mudashiru Obasa, Moshood Oshun from Mainland II, Olumuyiwa Jimoh for Apapa II, Bisi Yusuf for Alimoso I, Tobun and Gbolahan Yishawu were returned unopposed in Epe I and Eti-Osa II constituencies in that order. Sultan Adeniji-Adele won in Amuwo Odofin I; Funmilayo Tejuoso in Mushin I and Saka Fafunmi in Ifako Ijaye I.

  Others are: Abdul-Bak Ladi Balogun for Ajeromi-Ifelodun Constituency II, Sikiru Osinowo for Kosofe I Constituency, Lanre Ogunyemi for Ojo Constituency II and his counterpart in Constituency I, Muhibat Rufai-Adeyemi.  

Meanwhile, Igbokwe has alerted that nation that security agents, led by about 40 Directorate of State Security (DSS) men invaded that Data Office of the party yesterday despite the public outcry that greeted the Saturday November 22 invasion of APC Data Centre in Lagos.

  In a release Igbokwe said that despite the public outcry and opprobrium that followed Saturday November 22 invasion of APC Data Centre in Lagos and a Court order asking DSS to release those arrested, 40 DSS officers returned yesterday night to further vandalize the office and took away 30 bags containing vital documents.

  According to him, “This frightening and fragrant display of impunity, brute force and disobedience of court order portends grave danger to our now fragile polity and it may brutally affect the 2015 General elections if the ruling party, police or DSS are not called to order.

  “We are still at a loss that more than two weeks after the first invasion, DSS has not told the world what its findings are, why it is still detaining workers of the Data Centre, and why it is still keeping the APC computers and vital documents.”

   “This desperation and confusion that is now the hallmark of the ruling party, PDP and their agents in uniform has been long expected and we know that this party cannot go down without a fight”


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Eruku     AIT Ilorin     Omotosho     Lai Gobir     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     March 28     Olayinka Are     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Ishaq Salman     Oke-opin     Kisira     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Local Government Pension Board     Saraki     Amuda Musbau     Abubakar Baba     Bola Sagaya     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Modibbo Kawu     Suleman Abubakar     Durosinlohun Kawu     UTME     Saadu Alanamu     Salman Alada     Iyabo Adewuyi     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Yoonus Lawal     Tope Daramola     Sa'adu Gambari     Irepodun     Halimat Yusuf     Christopher Ayeni     Oloje     Rex Olawoye     Simeon Ajibola     Esuwoye     Ejidongari     Aremu Odolaye     Olusegun Adeniyi     Wole Oke     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Unilorin     Elerinjare     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Kwasu     Segun Olawoyin     Dauda Adesola     Onilu     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Kwara Restoration Project     Olaiya Zuberu     Ramat Oganija     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Suleiman Abubakar     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Students Union Government     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Yakubu Shaaba     Rotimi Atere     Sa'ad Alanamu     Ahmad Lawan     Babaita     Okasanmi Ajayi     NSCIA     Share     Fulani     Tunji Oyawoye     Ohoro Of Shao     Pategi     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Tafidan Kaiama     Hassan A. Saliu     Royal FM