Kwara PDP crisis worsens

Date: 2014-09-16

The leadership crisis rocking the Kwara State chapter of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, took another twist yesterday as an Ilorin High Court restrained Yusuf Amuda Olugbon-led factional executive from parading as Executive Committee of PDP in Ilorin West Local Government Area of the State.

Chairman of the party, Iyiola Oyedepo was last week docked for contempt of court for alleged refusal to appear in court over his swearing in of the Yusuf Amuda Olugbon led factional executives.

Justice Yusuf will on Wednesday deliver his ruling on the contempt charge file against Oyedepo following his Counsel, A O Abubakar's application that process of filing and serving Form 49 was "defective and premature."

Justice Isiaka Yusuf in the ruling also restrained the PDP from recognising Olugbon-led faction as Executive Committee of PDP in the council.

The Judge in his ruling, also directed the State Executive of PDP to "collect back any official monuments, cars, money or benefits given to the 35th and 38th defendants (Olugbon and three others) as a result of their swearing in as the Ilorin West Local Government Executive Committee of the PDP pending the hearing and determination of motion on notice."

The ruling followed a Motion Exparte filed by another factional chairman, Alhaji Toyin Olosasa and two others against PDP and 40 others against the purported swearing of Olugbon-led faction by State PDP Chairman.

Applicants Counsel, Mogaji Oba Abdulkadir who had filed 27 paragraphs affidavit to support the applications, told the court that Olugbon-led faction had concluded plans to in turn swear-in ward executives, arguing that if the court "fails to grant to prayer, the justice being sought by the applicants will be jeopardised."


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Akume     Alimi     Kaiama     Chief Of Staff     Roseline Oni Aremu     Amuda Aluko     School Of Nursing     Playing Host     Sulyman Buhari     Ndakene     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Saka Isau     Isau     Yoruba     Borgu     Isapa     Students Union Government     Adeleke Ogungbe     Ohoro Of Shao     Omoniyi Ayinla     S.O. Opowoye     Kulende-UITH     Okasanmi Ajayi     Olaosebikan     Yekeen Alabi     Gobir     Ishaq Salman     Ayedun     Ishaq Oloyede     Akeem Lawal     Gambari     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Saka Saadu     Gbemisola Saraki     Oniye     Sheriff Shagaya     Mogaji Aare     Kwara State Governor     Funmilayo Oniwa     KWIRS     Local Government Pension Board     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     BIR     Royal FM     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Kwara Polytechnic     Sarakite     Ubandawaki     Olusegun Adeniyi     Post-utme     Oja-Oba     Offa Descendants Union     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Clara Nwachukwu     Kayode Ibrahim     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Ola Falade     Ekweremadu     Atunwa     Wale Oladepo     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Transition Implementation Committee     Kishira     Oniwasi Agbaye     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Bayo Onimago     Rex Olawoye     Na'Allah     Halimat Yusuf     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Ibrahim Labaika     Mohammed Yisa     CCB     Sobi Specialist Hospital